We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
140
26
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
26
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bethells beach new zealand outdoor fire lovely hosts awesome beach overlooking the beach auckland city property wedding swanson accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

You’ve got to come here! It’s utterly relaxed, cosy and beautiful in all senses. Our stress melted away. We really enjoyed our weekend getaway here: from the views to the hot tub to the fireplace to the comfort and the warm welcome. Highly recommend if you’re looking for a romantic, cool, relaxed, bohemian escape!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MarjorieR482
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Thank you so much Trude and John for being such gracious hosts and for your time and caring when
we arrived. The cake and glass of bubbles was a wonderful surprise and much appreciated, giving
a personal touch. We stayed in the beautiful Turehu cottage with the most magnificent views. Although
this rustic cottage is the older of the three it is well equipped and clean and tidy with a great choice of
magazines and books. All and all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back many more times.
This is now a favourite holiday destination for us. We loved exploring the beach and lake.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jason65r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

We spent 2 wonderful days in Bethell’s beach. Our favourite beach in NZ so far. The location and views are spectacular. We were in the apartment which was very comfortable and spacious and well stocked and had everything we needed. John and Trude we great hosts. Their advice about walks and events is in the area made the stay even better. Don’t miss Friday night music at the beach if you are there. Accommodation near the beach is at a premium and, for us, this was a perfect place to stay while we were there.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 936williaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020

This place is not for everyone: if you prioritize great views + relaxed beach hippie atmosphere and everything else is totally irrelevant, then this place is for you - my husband liked it very much. But I found it really hard to relax in a place where cockroaches try to sneak into my bag, there's dust and cobwebs and old stuff everywhere, towels are torn & ancient and smell funky, and where everything seems to be updated last time in the 1990s (though this can also be interesting if you're in for retro stuff). All this would be ok if it was cheap and you'd know you'll be getting more like grandma's cottage, but it's definately not cheap here because of Auckland tourists, which seemed to be the case in Piha as well.

We had Turehu cottage and did appreciate:
- the lovely big lawn with great views, though remember that the lawn will not be that green during the dry season
- starry skies, sound of the sea
- cottage with character and the terrace is lovely
- hosts are very friendly and helpful + the history of the area is interesting, great advice on what to see.

We did not appreciate:
- cockroaches
- old and dirty kitchenware, torn towels, old linens that felt like they hadn't been changed at all, the cluttered bedroom full of old stuff; in general the lack of maintenance and thorough cleaning compared to the price. This place would be amazing with a little update.

All in all I recommend to only take a day trip to the area, unless you really want the beach hippie experience/the view.

Room tip: If you want up-to-date accomodation w/ crips linens, skip this. If you're like "whatever-I-just-want-the-view", go for Turehu.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnemoneRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

Thank you, the towels and all linen are washed and on the line for at least 6-8 hours for drying, then finished in the dryer. Maybe I will change the washing powder that I have used for over 10 years. The cotton ends I have just found a similar fabric and about to sew new ends on. Spring clean is being completed and concerns noted. Thank you for positive feed back as we do put a huge amount of effort in. Would love to have talked personally. Have an awesome 2020 and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and were just so disappointed at how run down the place was.
We watched cockroaches crawl over the benches and walls as we layed in bed. Ahhhhh!!!
Yes, it does have lovely views over Bethells Beach but the rest of the place is disgusting.
I don't think they have dusted the place for years and there are spider webs everywhere.
The activity room is also a mess. Definately no cleaning been done in there for years.
I can't understand how they get away with charging huge nightly rates. Surely there are other places to stay?
Sorry, I can't recommend.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mytravadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

This is a country establishment and we do our utmost to minimalise bugs and clean/vacuum extensively. The cottage is on ground level and is closely surrounded by extensive gardens and because we try to be as eco friendly as possible we deliberately keep to a minimum the use of chemical insecticides and as a result there is a certain inevitability to some garden insects indoors. We note your note your concerns and we were sorry we could not talk this through while you were here. The floors were steam mopped prior to your arrival. The bed was aired and freshly made on the day of your arrival with the imported mattress for ultimate luxury. The two vases of flowers were full of colour. We hope you enjoyed the easel provided. Have a fantastic 2020 Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews