We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anemone
Helsinki, Finland

Very mixed feelings, think carefully before you book

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2020
This place is not for everyone: if you prioritize great views + relaxed beach hippie atmosphere and everything else is totally irrelevant, then this place is for you - my husband liked it very much. But I found it really hard to relax in a place where cockroaches try to sneak into my bag, there's dust and cobwebs and old stuff everywhere, towels are torn & ancient and smell funky, and where everything seems to be updated last time in the 1990s (though this can also be interesting if you're in for retro stuff). All this would be ok if it was cheap and you'd know you'll be getting more like grandma's cottage, but it's definately not cheap here because of Auckland tourists, which seemed to be the case in Piha as well.

We had Turehu cottage and did appreciate:
- the lovely big lawn with great views, though remember that the lawn will not be that green during the dry season
- starry skies, sound of the sea
- cottage with character and the terrace is lovely
- hosts are very friendly and helpful + the history of the area is interesting, great advice on what to see.

We did not appreciate:
- cockroaches
- old and dirty kitchenware, torn towels, old linens that felt like they hadn't been changed at all, the cluttered bedroom full of old stuff; in general the lack of maintenance and thorough cleaning compared to the price. This place would be amazing with a little update.

All in all I recommend to only take a day trip to the area, unless you really want the beach hippie experience/the view.
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: If you want up-to-date accomodation w/ crips linens, skip this. If you're like...
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Thank you, the towels and all linen are washed and on the line for at least 6-8 hours for drying, then finished in the dryer. Maybe I will change the washing powder that I have used for over 10 years. The cotton ends I have just found a similar fabric and about to sew new ends on. Spring clean is being completed and concerns noted. Thank you for positive feed back as we do put a huge amount of effort in. Would love to have talked personally. Have an awesome 2020 and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Priceline
6.7 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool area
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Priceline
9.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
Tripadvisor
$209
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
10.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$180
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $180
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $180
14.3 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Henderson Accessible Room
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $200
  • Priceline
16.1 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Hotel exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
16.5 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $323
  • Booking.com
18.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$110
  • Tripadvisor
    $110
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $110
18.6 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.5 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
140
26
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
26
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bethells beach new zealand outdoor fire lovely hosts awesome beach overlooking the beach auckland city property wedding swanson accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and were just so disappointed at how run down the place was.
We watched cockroaches crawl over the benches and walls as we layed in bed. Ahhhhh!!!
Yes, it does have lovely views over Bethells Beach but the rest of the place is disgusting.
I don't think they have dusted the place for years and there are spider webs everywhere.
The activity room is also a mess. Definately no cleaning been done in there for years.
I can't understand how they get away with charging huge nightly rates. Surely there are other places to stay?
Sorry, I can't recommend.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mytravadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

This is a country establishment and we do our utmost to minimalise bugs and clean/vacuum extensively. The cottage is on ground level and is closely surrounded by extensive gardens and because we try to be as eco friendly as possible we deliberately keep to a minimum the use of chemical insecticides and as a result there is a certain inevitability to some garden insects indoors. We note your note your concerns and we were sorry we could not talk this through while you were here. The floors were steam mopped prior to your arrival. The bed was aired and freshly made on the day of your arrival with the imported mattress for ultimate luxury. The two vases of flowers were full of colour. We hope you enjoyed the easel provided. Have a fantastic 2020 Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

I don’t no who is writing the glowing reviews but this place is tired. We stayed in the cottage and did enjoy the view of Bethells Beach, it is glorious. But the room was not especially clean and it was so cluttered there was no where to put anything down. We don’t need fancy, but this place could really use a facelift.
We were hoping for a path to the beach but you have to walk on a rolling stone road or drive.
We will not return.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pajaropots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

The road is a council road - so you may wish to consult them about this. Sorry we could not support while you were here as we would be happy to work through details. So happy you enjoyed the flowers, eco friendly rubbish system and our time and support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

This property was beyond belief. The room was dirty, small, hot and run down. I could not believe they were asking $370 for absolutely no luxury let alone a clean and tidy property. The road to the property was almost a bullock track and the place when we drove in was like a junkyard.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RBKEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Your criticism might be a little more valid if you had actually stayed. The road that you talk about is a council road so take the matter with them. We are sorry you did not appreciate the rustic ambiance that so many other people find charming. We charge a premium for a one night stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Words cannot describe the pure beauty we discovered at this magical cottage. Thank you Trude & John for having us stay. We will be back for sure. If you wanting peace, tranquility and views for days, This is the spot.

From the rolling hills of the Waitakeres surrounding, to the dark blue waves crashing, we relaxed and unwound in the Scandinavian hot tub. Views & brews as we described it.

Kindest,
William & Rose

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WillHattaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

You are so so welcome and loved meeting you with your appreciative and happy personalities. We so look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Hugs Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

Just spent the weekend here, and it was nothing short of magical. Unfortunately I'm half a world away, but would LOVE to come back here someday. The view was stunning, Trude and John were the most gracious hosts, and the cottage itself was absolutely lovely.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thank you, thank you and thank you for your enthusiasm and happy presence here. We so enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you many more times. Have happy lifes journeys. Hugs Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews