We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Deborah

How dare they!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2020
This property was beyond belief. The room was dirty, small, hot and run down. I could not believe they were asking $370 for absolutely no luxury let alone a clean and tidy property. The road to the property was almost a bullock track and the place when we drove in was like a junkyard.
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Your criticism might be a little more valid if you had actually stayed. The road that you talk about is a council road so take the matter with them. We are sorry you did not appreciate the rustic ambiance that so many other people find charming. We charge a premium for a one night stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Booking.com
6.7 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
10.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
14.3 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Henderson Accessible Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
16.1 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Hotel exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Hotels.com
16.5 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Hotels.com
18.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
18.6 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.5 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.4 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Room service
26.3 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
140
26
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
26
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bethells beach new zealand outdoor fire lovely hosts awesome beach overlooking the beach auckland city property wedding swanson accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2019

Words cannot describe the pure beauty we discovered at this magical cottage. Thank you Trude & John for having us stay. We will be back for sure. If you wanting peace, tranquility and views for days, This is the spot.

From the rolling hills of the Waitakeres surrounding, to the dark blue waves crashing, we relaxed and unwound in the Scandinavian hot tub. Views & brews as we described it.

Kindest,
William & Rose

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WillHattaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

You are so so welcome and loved meeting you with your appreciative and happy personalities. We so look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Hugs Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

Just spent the weekend here, and it was nothing short of magical. Unfortunately I'm half a world away, but would LOVE to come back here someday. The view was stunning, Trude and John were the most gracious hosts, and the cottage itself was absolutely lovely.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thank you, thank you and thank you for your enthusiasm and happy presence here. We so enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you many more times. Have happy lifes journeys. Hugs Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

Probably the best escape from the hustle and bustle of Auckland imaginable, and all less than an hours drive from the CBD. Stunning sunsets, activities for the kids, log fires inside plus patio bbq outside for those winter escapes. Couldnt recommend more for a short weekend escape or a longer vacation!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AndrewH6962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thank you so very much for your enthusiasm and support for the work John and I do to share this place with you. Have an awesome lifes journey and we look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Hugs Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019

We spent a weekend at Bethell's Beach Cottages recently. It was a perfect break for body and soul. The position of the cottages allows amazing views of the beach and we enjoyed quite a few soaks in the Scandinavian tub looking out across the dunes and the beach. It was not a long drive from Auckland but felt an absolute world away.

Trude and John were hosts without fault. They were welcoming when we arrived, showed us around the property and gave good tips on walks and other things in the local area.

The accommodation was perfect and cosy.

When we left John and Trude so kindly gave us cuttings of some of their plants that we had admired. So now we hope to grow a little of Bethells Beach in our garden!

Thank you again

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dana_G_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thank you, thank you and thank you for your wonderful support, happy enthusiasm and time with John and I. Happy lifes journey and we look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Hugs Trude and John. Happy plant growing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Awesome spot, John and Trudy are lovely people who just let you be. The cottages are cute and welcoming while Te Henga is wild, powerful and steeped in history. This is not a hotel it is a couple of cottages on an amazing property. Don't expect service but do expect a great experience.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RossM1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thank you so much for your wonderful enthusiasm and support. We so look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Happy life's journey Hugs Trude and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews