We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Heather G

Truly Magical Cottage

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Aug 2019
Just spent the weekend here, and it was nothing short of magical. Unfortunately I'm half a world away, but would LOVE to come back here someday. The view was stunning, Trude and John were the most gracious hosts, and the cottage itself was absolutely lovely.
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Thank you, thank you and thank you for your enthusiasm and happy presence here. We so enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you many more times. Have happy lifes journeys. Hugs Trude and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$183
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $183
  • Vio.com
    $114
  • Expedia.com
    $184
6.7 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Eines der beiden Schlafzimmer - mit Meerblick
$264
    7.8 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Pool area
    $201
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $180
    • Agoda.com
      $169
    • Expedia.com
      $178
    9.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Deluxe Room
    $187
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $208
    • Agoda.com
      $158
    • Priceline
      $187
    10.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Free parking
    Pool
    Freshwater Cottages
    $295
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    13.1 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    $180
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $180
    • Expedia.com
      $180
    • Hotels.com
      $180
    14.3 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Quest Henderson Accessible Room
    $227
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $227
    • Expedia.com
      $224
    • Hotels.com
      $225
    16.1 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Hotel exterior
    $250
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $250
    • Expedia.com
      $251
    • Agoda.com
      $250
    16.5 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $325
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      $325
    • ZenHotels.com
      $266
    • Hotels.com
      $319
    18.0 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $130
    • Priceline
      $130
    • Expedia.com
      $130
    • ZenHotels.com
      $130
    18.6 km from Bethells Beach Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
    Reviews (188)
    Filter reviews
    188 results
    Traveller rating
    140
    26
    13
    5
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    140
    26
    13
    5
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews bethells beach new zealand outdoor fire lovely hosts awesome beach overlooking the beach auckland city property wedding swanson accommodations
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 188 reviews
    Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

    Probably the best escape from the hustle and bustle of Auckland imaginable, and all less than an hours drive from the CBD. Stunning sunsets, activities for the kids, log fires inside plus patio bbq outside for those winter escapes. Couldnt recommend more for a short weekend escape or a longer vacation!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank AndrewH6962
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

    Thank you so very much for your enthusiasm and support for the work John and I do to share this place with you. Have an awesome lifes journey and we look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Hugs Trude and John

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 May 2019

    We spent a weekend at Bethell's Beach Cottages recently. It was a perfect break for body and soul. The position of the cottages allows amazing views of the beach and we enjoyed quite a few soaks in the Scandinavian tub looking out across the dunes and the beach. It was not a long drive from Auckland but felt an absolute world away.

    Trude and John were hosts without fault. They were welcoming when we arrived, showed us around the property and gave good tips on walks and other things in the local area.

    The accommodation was perfect and cosy.

    When we left John and Trude so kindly gave us cuttings of some of their plants that we had admired. So now we hope to grow a little of Bethells Beach in our garden!

    Thank you again

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Dana_G_NZ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

    Thank you, thank you and thank you for your wonderful support, happy enthusiasm and time with John and I. Happy lifes journey and we look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Hugs Trude and John. Happy plant growing.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 April 2019

    Awesome spot, John and Trudy are lovely people who just let you be. The cottages are cute and welcoming while Te Henga is wild, powerful and steeped in history. This is not a hotel it is a couple of cottages on an amazing property. Don't expect service but do expect a great experience.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank RossM1826
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Trude B, Manager at Bethells Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

    Thank you so much for your wonderful enthusiasm and support. We so look forward to welcoming you back many more times. Happy life's journey Hugs Trude and John

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

    Spectacular views! Bethells Beach offers so much - from the wild beauty of the Tasman Sea - hunting for seashells on the black-sand beach - to exploring sea caves!! Trude & John were so gracious & welcoming to their lovely cottage.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank JulieMarie777
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 April 2019

    We ended our month long adventure in New Zealand with a stay at Bethell's Beach Cottages. Turehu cottage was just delightful with a stunning view of the beach. We watched the surf rescue practice drills as live entertainment and each day woke to the sky brightening over the water. The hosts, Trude and John, are so welcoming and so knowledgeable about the area. Do stop for groceries before arriving. There's a fully appointed kitchen for cooking and a darling glassed in porch for dining. Loved our stay here!

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Morphobutterfly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews