We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Strathisla should not be missed!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Pool with a view
Pergola, front entrance
Suriya room 4 poster bed
Suriya room ensuite
Strathisla Sunset
Local waterhole
Knuckles range
Historic Kandy town
Pinnewala elephant orphanage
Giant sleeping Buddha, Polonnaruwa
Langur mother and baby
Elephant riding in Kandelama Lake
Castlereagh Lake
Local temple
Local 'weigh in' of tea
Dambulla Rock Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
aU8721SH
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Strathisla should not be missed!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a lovely holiday week at this incredible villa- all 12 of us, grandparents, grandkids... the whole lot ! From the minute we arrived, to the time that we left, we were so well taken care of by our host family. Food was fantastic- the best we had during our whole time in Sri Lanka.This was definitely the high point of our Sri Lankan trip. Don't miss it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention and care we received while we were there.
Liked least: Nothing to add here!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Hi Ana
Many thanks for the wonderful review; we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.
From all the team at Strathisla we wish you happy travels ahead.
Best regards
Priya, Jko and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiga_11
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery, fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our family spent 5 nights here and truly enjoyed everything about it. Kumar is a very congenial host who ensures that guests are comfortable, well informed and happy. Priya his wife is an amazing cook and we enjoyed her food immensely - she was even able to accommodate our very fussy 11 year old with fish fingers and pasta. We especially enjoyed the chicken and vegetable curries. The other staff also ensured that we were well supplied with tea and coffee throughout the day.
We had plans prior to arriving of doing day trips around the area but we found it hard some days to leave the beautiful estate.
Our room was large and comfortable and easily accommodated our family of 4. Highly recommended
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The wide verandah and views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Hi Tracie, many thanks for you very kind words; I know Jko and Priya and their 2 kids enjoyed having you stay with us.
All the best with the rest of your travels and you are welcome back any time
Warmest regards from all the team at Strathisla
Priya, Jko, Shailee and Hareen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurelia D
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical home set in tropical gardens and tea plantation”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This small hotel is fantastic - tucked away off the beaten track in among tea plantations and forests. The view form the front porch over the lush garden and across to the mountains is spectacular, and I wish I'd had more time just to sit there with a cup of tea and a book. The staff are efficient and warm and go out of their way to make you feel welcome - I asked the manager to arrange a small cake for my daughter (it was her birthday the day we arrived) and he and his family presented her with the most amazing cake and presents too - along with candles and singing! The rooms are big and clean, and good value for money. Huge thanks to Kumar and Priya for a wonderful stay. I hope we will be back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Hi Aurelia, I am so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Strathisla Bungalow.
Many thanks for your kind words in the review and happy travels for the rest of your trip in Sri Lanka.
The warmest regards from all the team at Strathisla Bungalow
Priya, Jeyakumar and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxWirz
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little gem in the middle of a former coffee and tea plantation”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The stay at Strathisla Guesthouse was definitely one of the highlights of our whole Sri Lanka trip. We were wonderfully taken care by owner Peter and manager Jeyakumar. We were the only guests at that time and were treated like kings. Jeyakumar's sister was cooking twice a day fantastic Sri Lankan Tamil food and Jayakumar was showing us around the tea plantation. To sit in the morning on the veranda, having coffee and overlooking the valley was just one fabulous thing I will always remember about this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome of wonderful staff and view over the green valley.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne H
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Charming old world estate home in the Matale highlands”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The property is lovely, a colonial estate built in the late 1800's, historical and charming. It overlooks tea and spice plantations, owner/manager Kumar gave our family of 12 an informative tour, he showed us cinnamon and nutmeg trees, how to pick tea correctly.
It was easy to book day trips to Sigiriya and Dambulla caves, but leave early or you may encounter traffic, when the tours were finished we looked forward to the delicious Sri Lankan dinners prepared by Kumar and his staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing