We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Safe and Comfortable”

The Hornsmill at Helsby
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Helsby
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Hornsmill at Helsby, a new name and now a wonderful new look. Following our impressive transformation you'll find the Hornsmill oozes with style, quality and character. Join us to enjoy a superb selection of freshly prepared food and a great range of your favourite drinks.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

First trip out for my 88 yr old mum for quite some time. Food was good, atmosphere was good, staff were friendly and attentive. Slight delay on some fries I ordered but no complaints at all.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, Other at The Hornsmill at Helsby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Hi Christine

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

Best Wishes
Roy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2021

Came back to helsby after a few years and came to the hornsmill for a few pints and was served by kirsty who was friendly and made sure I had everything I needed. I was really impressed with the personal service from kirsty made me feel really welcome as absolute gem a total asset to your business! Its nice to be nice, professional at the same time. I will certainly be returning again soon.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank AlunOwenD4T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, Other at The Hornsmill at Helsby, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Hi Alun

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Kirsty will be so pleased you gave her a personal mention.

Best Wishes
Roy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021

Have visited several times with family. This was first visit after lockdown. Menu had something for everyone, service was pleasant and speedy. Food tasty but quite pricey.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Cardiffdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, Other at The Hornsmill at Helsby, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Hi

Thank you so much for the lovely review, the staff have been working so hard since we reopened so i will defiantly pass on your comments.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Roy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

This was an evening with six mature friends meeting at the Hornsmill for the first time as it is mid point between us. On arrival we were signed in to comply with Covid regulations and guided to our table. The ambience and staff were pleasant enough but it was downhill thereafter.
The menu was somewhat limited made worse by the unusual meal combinations. This resulted in four having Scampi, chips and peas, which came in small and large portions. One chose small and three chose large. The cutlery, when delivered, was literally dumped in a pile, with serviettes, on the table. The starters were generally good. The main courses came and three of the Scampi meals came with a supplementary dish of scampi presumably as all had been served as small portions. Whatever the chips were supposed to be they were limp and soggy and mostly were left as was the scampi.
The beer, by Hyde brewery. was insiped and limited choice.
Not having read any reviews of the Hornsmill we were unaware that it is apparently dog friendly. There were dogs in the dining area, which is a no no for me.
Altogether not a good dining experience and one not to be repeated.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stanleyinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, General Manager at The Hornsmill at Helsby, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Hi Stanleinman

Thank you for your review. We do allow dogs in the bar area not the dining area so I do believe you have stipulated false information there, you do have a choice which side you would like to sit on and in particular if you did not like dining in a dog friendly area you could have asked to move through to the main restaurant. Perhaps if you would have asked the team would have had no problem in looking after you here.

The cutlery is placed on the table due to COVID restriction and normally pre-COVID this would be presented on your table laid out in a more presentable manner.

The beer is quite limited at the moment you are right as we are all trying to recover from COVID and the range in the future will improve however we do have a selection of 3 ales all different within their own right which are normally very well received.

I do take your feedback on the quality and that is something I will discuss with the chefs.

Clearly you are hard to please as this is the second review you have done and both 2 stars so perhaps the pubs locally here are just not for you.
Most of our reviews as you can see are very good and the team are excellent so we will continue to do what we do and do it well.

Have a great week and thank you once again for your feedback.

Best Wishes

Hornsmill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

A quick Google search before setting off on a trip to Chester found the Hornsmill. I have never heard of Hydes, and we love to try new places.
We visited at lunchtime on a Saturday, the sun was shinning and we used the really nice outside dining area. Everyone of the staff were so nice, polite, friendly and frankly all very good at thier job.
The menu is brilliant, all the classics and some intresting options as well. So nice to see some creativity on a pub menu. We thouroughlly enjoyed our choices. The tuna steak and prawns with tapanade was a big hit.
We had a delicious meal served by a well trained team of real people. Take the Helsby junction off the M56 and you are in for a treat.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FELICITY19781800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, General Manager at The Hornsmill at Helsby, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Hi Felicity

Thank you for the lovely feedback and I am delighted google sent you to us. The team are excellent and keep working hard to keep the standards high. I will pass this feedback on to them.

We hope to see you again when next in the area.

Best Wishes

Roy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hornsmill at Helsby also viewed

Frodsham, Cheshire
Frodsham, Cheshire
 
Mouldsworth, Cheshire
 

Been to The Hornsmill at Helsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.