We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Real Gem in The Peak District”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dutch Barn

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glen1976
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Real Gem in The Peak District”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at The Dutch Barn. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable and has everything you may need and more!

The hot tub spa is amazing and very needed after a days rambling around the Peaks! It is serviced daily to keep it clean and in full working order.

Jonathon and Gill are lovely and had good communication with us during the booking and whilst on the stay. We thought the hamper of wine, croissants and cookies was a wonderful touch for our first night! Thanks again for those!!

As it was our first holiday with our rescue-dog, we chose the Dutch Barn due to it being dog friendly and having a garden for our pampered pooch!! He really enjoyed himself, and loved running around in the garden and was very settled in the house! Anyone that wants to also take their dog for a break in the Peaks, this place is perfect and very well situated, centrally, for the whole of the Peaks District.

Bakewell is only a 5 min drive from the barn. It is very beautiful and has a large Co-op as well as a good butcher, fish and chip shops, etc. We also saw a number of "Original" Bakewell Pudding shops, many of them claiming to be the birth place of the pudding!! Our advice is buy one from each shop and try them all!!

One of our highlights was a walk down to Lathkill Dale (this REALLY is a beautiful place), which is literally on the doorstep of the barn with a great Tea Garden halfway down the hill serving amazing cakes and hot drinks in a lovely terraced well kept garden (Also Dog Friendly!)

The best pub food we found was recommended to us by the owner of the tea garden and is well worth the 15 minute drive, The Royal Oak in Hurdlow!

So to sum up, The Dutch Barn comes highly recommended by us for cleanliness, location, value for money, and of course the Hot Tub!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice H
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here with friends and had a lovely time. The place is very well equipped and looked after. The owners are friendly and helpful.
The hot tub was amazing and very clean.
Would highly recommend.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh C
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just came back from a weekend at the Dutch Barn. Over Haddon is beautiful and very quiet but just a couple of mins drive from the lovely Bakewell. The barn itself is very spacious and welcoming! We had our 2 boys and 2 other friends and their baby accompany us and there was plenty of space for us all without stepping on each others toes.

The kitchen was very well stocked with pots, pans and cutlery etc and there was plenty of cleaning stuff including dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid (I always forget this and so pleased it was provided)!

The owners were lovely and met us on our first night to say hello and answer any questions we had. They even brought us a few treats which was a lovely touch!

Finally, the hot tub was great! Very big and lovely and hot and maintained daily by Jonathan.

Great weekend had by all. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we may welcome you back again in the future,Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicelink
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely family get away”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We enjoyed a weeks stay here in September. The house was spacious and well decorated. The front garden was perfect for my dog to run around and enjoy the beautiful setting. The hot tub was fantastic and much needed after walking the Lathkil Dale. There was also a BBQ that we used. The welcome basket was a great touch and very handy when we arrived the oat cookies were lovely. The bedding and towels were high quality and the best I've had in a holiday cottage. The area was beautiful the village had a pub and a tea room with stunning views. We had a lovely week and we hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review,. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn and very much hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
thanks
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnielus...
Faversham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Went to the Dutch Barn with my husband two daughters and their husbands we had a wonderfull time the hot tub being the star of the show great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing