We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dutch Barn

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
julieDBir...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

7 friends stayed here over Easter and we all thought the barn was a lovely place to stay. It is decorated really well and is very well equipped. It is very modern and light with plenty of room in the lounge for sitting and eating. The hot tub is a lovely addition and great after a long walk. It is located in a very pretty part of the peak distract with plenty of walks on the doorstep

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a Review. We always welcome comments from our guests We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the beautiful Peak District.

We hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future.
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis8248
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High quality barn in beautiful surroundings in north Derbyshire.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The barn has been furnished to the highest standard and it is well equipped with everything you could need. Over Haddon is a small village near Bakewell and you can walk straight from the barn on to many amazing walks in various directions. The scenery is absolutely beautiful especially along the rivers Wye and Lathkil. There is a hotel in Over Haddon which serves good food and allows dogs in the bar. The icing on the cake was the Hot Tub in the rear patio area which we all enjoyed using. We were a family of six with dogs and had a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location. Accommodation very high spec.
Liked least: As we had dogs a secure fence round the front garden would have been a bonus.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review . We always welcome comments from our guests.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Thanks
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect luxury escape to the country”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A group of us stayed at the Dutch Barn over Valentines weekend and had a fabulous time. Lovely clean and welcoming accommodation with nice touches for a homely but contemporary feel. Both double beds extremely comfortable and all rooms beautifully decorated. All needs catered for and owners easily contactable and more than willing to answer any queries. Hot tub was the highlight, even in the rain! The extra drinks fridge kept our wine and beer chilled and was a good thought. Great location for exploring Lathkill dale and the nearby Lathkill hotel provided us with an excellent meal and real ale. We're hoping to return in the summer, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and quality interior
Liked least: Only 1 pub in the village
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay . We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future
Thank
s Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant weekend, lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just had a brilliant weekend in this lovely accommodation. We have been to the Dutch Barn many times and it never fails to come up to a very high standard. We had great weather and spent much of our time in the hot tub and garden. Lots of great pubs nearby. Marie, the manageress, is always on hand for any small problems, and always a prompt reply from the owners when booking. We will definitely be staying again, and can't wait!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
Thank you so much. We always love to welcome back regular guests and do hope that you will visit us again soon to try out the new Hot Tub.
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catty14
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“mixed emotions”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

On arrival it was obvious the barn had not been cleaned from previous guests,contacted the owners who were most apologetic and organised for the cleaner to come and invited us to go for tea which they would pay for, a bottle of wine and a bunch of flowers were also gratefully received.The barn itself is in a wonderful location 1.8 miles from bakewell we just think it is beginning to look a little tired in the high traffic areas and could do with a bit of tlc.The hot tub directionly switches no longer work so you no longer get the full effect of the jets although as in previous reviews I understand a new tub is on order.With this addition and a few minor tweaks I think the owners, who did do everything to make our stay enjoyable would have a excellent property.A welcome booklet with relevant accommodation and area information would also be handy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: hot tub not working fully
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing