We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rathmoy Lodge, an absolute delight!”

Review of Rathmoy Lodge

Rathmoy's Exclusive Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathmoy's Exclusive Lodge
1st Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Rathmoy's Exclusive Lodge
1st Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hunterville, Rangitikei District, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AshLegget...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Rathmoy Lodge, an absolute delight!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were a group of 3 young professionals in the Rangitikei Region for work and coming home to Rathmoy each night was an absolute delight.

Tucked away on Mark and Andrea's farm the lodge was well appointed with a fully kitted out kitchen, an open fire and heatpump, and lovely linen in all bedrooms. I'll also note the heated bathroom floors were a real treat. Outside of functionality the lodge was beautifully decorated and made for a very relaxing environment. This feeling of relaxation and homeliness was a real point of difference for us; as we worked through our busy days it was so nice to know we had such a lovely place to return to each night.

Despite limited time with Mark and Andrea, they were great hosts who made it clear nothing was any trouble. We only wish we'd had more time to take advantage of all the activities they offer! We look forward to returning be it for work or pleasure!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Rangitikei Region at it's best”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We are a group of three couples & this is the third, 3 night weekend we have stayed at Rathmoy in twelve months. We just love the Rangitikei region & Rathmoy Lodge.
The six of us are all very busy business people & we are there to relax. Be it hiking, reading a book, fishing, eating good food or drinking a great wine, Rathmoy works for us. The weather was suburb, we caught nine great trout & two of the group played the Rangatira Golf course just down the road.
The accommodation is fabulous, the kitchen has absolutely everything you require & the huge open fire is one of the best I've sat in front off.
The owners Mark & Andrea are friendly, helpful & nothing is no much trouble.
We will be back again for our fourth stay shortly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
autumn85
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“NZ's finest shoot coupled with a beautiful location and exceptional hosting.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is the second time I have been on a Rathmoy pheasant shoot and again it exceeded expectations.

The event is very well run and in an English / New Zealand cross pollinated style which exposes the guns to the best of British and Kiwi cultures.

The day is really well run and caters for the keen, casual and inexperience hunter. Being an inexperience hunter myself, the Rathmoy staff provide plenty of support and helped me with my action which resulted in me actually hitting some birds!

Great hosting, great food and an exceptional experience all round. I can't say enough for it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macgahe
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“All in one Place”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Need to relax, you got it , Need for Adventure , you got it.. We spent an amazing weekend at the Rahmoy Lodge...

The place is simply AWESOME... With a countless variety of activities , from relaxing and enjoying the view and the lodge, going through Jet Boating, Hunting Pheasant , till having a pleasant walk and hiking to a hidden cave of Glowing Worms.

During our stay at Rathmoy Lodge, their Hosts, Mark and Andrea, were extremely kind and helpful .

Do not hesitate to come you will never regret…

Thanks Mark and Andrea!! we spent such a GREAT time!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuliano...
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A weekend among friends”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

That's the way I felt this last weekend with Mark and Andrea. They're a really nice couple that offers a great service and accommodation in their lodge. We had one of the best weekend ever in New Zealand doing farmers duties, riding quad-bikes and chilling in a place with a great viewings and landscapes. I really recommend a weekend in Rathmoy Lodge !! Thanks Mark and Andrea..
Giuliano

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing