We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a break”

Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Ohingaiti
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Flat Hills is a family run cafe & campground with cabins. There's a children's play area with mega bouncy castle, a maze , free Wifi, plenty of outdoor seating with free access to the farm yard you can feed the donkey, ponies , goats, sheep & lambs, pigs, llamas & alpacas. So come try one of our famous home-made Custard Squares, delicious Lamb Burgers or a Flat Hills Big Brekkie. Plenty of parking for caravans and trailers as well as ample coach parking. There are 13 powered sites set in the beautiful Flat Hills grounds amongst the amazing scenery & animals. 4 Pod Cabins that can accommodate up to 4 people-two having two single beds & a queen bed, one which has a queen bed & the fourth has disabled access & king setting. Each Pod has its own TV, mini fridge with tea & coffee making facilities, free Wifi around the grounds & communal BBQ area as well as a campers lounge with wide screen TV, book, toy & games area & kitchen.
Reviewed 28 September 2023 via mobile

Good place to stop for food. Plenty to choose from the menu or cabinet. I had the creamy mushrooms and they were delicious. Large roomy restaurant with good parking. Staff were friendly and the food arrived to our table quickly

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank Taratat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Henry Brown, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Thanks for visiting us- great to hear you enjoyed your experience 😀

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2023

We arrived later that we had planned and buzzed the intercom and were met by a friendly member of the staff. We were given the relevant information and door codes for bathrooms etc and we had our pick of the campervan sites.
We ended up having our dinner in the kitchen which is incredibly well stocked for cooking up a storm. Everything you need is provided...just bring your own food.

Breakfast the next morning was AMAZING!!. I had the creamy mushrooms and they were simply delicious.

Staff were very attentive and friendly.

I have driven past this place many times. It was usually a marker point for me. 1 hour to Palmerston North if heading south, nearly at Taihape if headed North. Glad I made the stop this time. Its a great place to unwind and relax.

We will def be back some day. :)

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RodandJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Henry Brown, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Thanks so much for coming in...so pleased you enjoyed Flat Hills! 🙂

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2023 via mobile

Stopped here for brunch - good parking. Good range on menu and after placing our order we found a nice table outside. Service was very quick and efficient and the food and coffee very good. Staff friendly and polite. Would absolutely recommend this cafe.

Date of visit: January 2023
1  Thank Bullit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2023

Thank you- great to hear you enjoyed your visit 😀

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2022 via mobile

I love this place and we stop here whenever we go holidaying this way and I’ve never been disappointed - place is huge, great stuff for kids to do while you’re waiting for food and has a great vibe! My eggs Benedict was excellent and teenagers were all well happy with their burgers and shakes. We were a group of 11 and food came out quickly and all together - another smashing experience!!

Date of visit: December 2022
1  Thank daregirlzone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2023

Ahhhh... thank you- so lovely to hear 🙂

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2022

Very welcoming owner . Amazing homemade delights. Great coffee .warm and comfortable surroundings clean restrooms. An absolute must stop

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Thank you Leonie- glad you enjoyed your visit 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park also viewed

Kimbolton, Manawatu-Wanganui Region

Been to Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.