We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee supreme”

Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Ohingaiti
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Flat Hills is a family run cafe & campground with cabins. There's a children's play area with mega bouncy castle, a maze , free Wifi, plenty of outdoor seating with free access to the farm yard you can feed the donkey, ponies , goats, sheep & lambs, pigs, llamas & alpacas. So come try one of our famous home-made Custard Squares, delicious Lamb Burgers or a Flat Hills Big Brekkie. Plenty of parking for caravans and trailers as well as ample coach parking. There are 13 powered sites set in the beautiful Flat Hills grounds amongst the amazing scenery & animals. 4 Pod Cabins that can accommodate up to 4 people-two having two single beds & a queen bed, one which has a queen bed & the fourth has disabled access & king setting. Each Pod has its own TV, mini fridge with tea & coffee making facilities, free Wifi around the grounds & communal BBQ area as well as a campers lounge with wide screen TV, book, toy & games area & kitchen.
Reviewed 6 July 2022 via mobile

Amazing place for lunch coffee. Carrot cake exemplary. Service first clas
A must do between Wellington and taupo very welcoming

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank Tour39280274418
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Thank you- great to hear 😁

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2022

We(Family of 4) visited this place for a weekend and I would say it was an amazing experience for us. Staffs were super friendly. We will def visit this place again and I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Oh, I forgot to mention about the food it was amazing.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vikvasudev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

So pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2022

Stopped for lunch on our way north with our 1 year old, so glad we did!
Well set up for kids and families with plenty of clean high chairs as well as toys for entertainment. The petting zoo was so cute, and a nice way to break up the journey. Steak and cheese pie was delicious, service friendly and lots of car parking. Looking forward to stopping in next time :-)

Date of visit: February 2022
1  Thank Casey2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Thank you Casey- so pleased you enjoyed your visit 😀

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2022 via mobile

Absolutely excellent place to stop with kids. We took advantage of the camping and stayed the night. Kids loved it so did Mum enough things to keep the kids entertained for our stay. Food was good and fairly priced they have a evening food option if you are staying the night which was awesome last night of our holiday so took advantage of no cooking. Breakfast was really good love that the kids meals come with a piece of fruit. It didn’t take long to come out either. Loved the animals there and the donkey made me smile.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank steph82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Great to hear- thanks Steph 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2022

Over the years we have regularly stopped for bathrooms, stretches and human refuelling.
On Tuesday 4th we got in before the kitchen closed. We weren’t unhappy about the 2 buses in the car park because we figured that would mean a longer wait and fresher food. It was uncomfortable with very little air movement through the building but they do supply water and glasses opposite the food cupboards.
The food came out fast, really fast.
My steak sandwich (fave cafe food) was made up with a fresh salad leaf and tomato and the sourdough was pretty good but that was where the goodness ended. The steak was very poor quality and I gave up chewing on the second piece.
The lamb sandwich was 3 slices of deli meat, a trace of marg wiped through the centre of the bread and a couple of teaspoons of mint jelly.
The meat dishes were ? accompanied by a limp coleslaw and both lots of bread needed toasting.
The worst dish was the loaded curly fries. They were limp (either reheated in the microwave or just left out too long) with congealed cheese on top. Inedible.
The staff were pleasant, the bathrooms clean but the food really let them down.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Luvinspoonful
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

I am sorry to hear you left disappointed- as you will know from all your previous visits this experience is definately not the norm and I wish you had said something at the time because then we could have fixed it rather than you go away disappointed...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park also viewed

Kimbolton, Manawatu-Wanganui Region

Been to Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.