We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
21
17
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
17
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manuka honey retail store virtual reality great coffee guided tour ice cream bees hive goggles vr video puke throat plants information
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Good tour, the first part was a little cheesy but the bee stuff was very informative. Good for our 9 year old.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Very impressed with the luncheon and tour. Everything was professionally run and our group of 63 thoroughly enjoyed themselves thanks heaps

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank tirausue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Best attraction we went to on our holiday. My daughter is seven and enjoyed it and understood all that was explained to us. The lady who took us around was brilliant and answered all the questions my daughter asked.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank catadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewCopestake, General Manager at Experience Comvita, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Children really enjoy our guided tour and learn so much about the natural world and the enormous role that the bees play in pollenating our fruit & vegetable crops while collecting nectar and pollen for the hive. All of our guides are very passionate about the beneficial health and well-being properties that the bee’s products provide and it’s a real pleasure to share that with our guests. Thank you for visiting Experience Comvita and joining our guided tour.

Drew Copestake
Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

I am not happy about the lady who works there turn up at 8:45 make up the rules to tell the customers shops open at 9:30.So why on the sign it's showing 8:30-5:00 to the public!!Something need to change!

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank FamilyStore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewCopestake, General Manager at Experience Comvita, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Hello,
I’m very sorry you we’re kept waiting on Saturday morning. We recently changed our opening hours on the weekend days to 9.30am-4pm, but unfortunately the opening hours on our main roadside sign were not removed before the first weekend with the amended hours; when you arrived last Saturday morning. If you are able to visit Experience Comvita again, please reference this incident to the Experience Comvita staff and we would be happy to provide you with complementary refreshments for the inconvenience we caused you. Once again I’m very sorry this occurred, but thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Drew Copestake
Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

This not an easy place to find so once there it made up for heading in the opposite direction for a km or two! Once inside there is a ticket counter and after that you enter a world where you share the forest of Tane Mahuta joining nature (including the Manuka) where so much healing power comes from.

Bees are the workers of nature and we would have very little to eat if these honeybees were not around to pollinate or gather honey for themselves.So this adventure takes you through their world, seeing what they see and how they go about their 'job'.

Once outside, the gift store has a multitude of honey flavours to buy, not cheap but then it's for medicinal purposes (not to put on bread). After tasting several we bought one that was suitable on our palates and you really only need a little every day from a teaspoon. Many beauty products, gifts and souvenirs are also available to take home.

A small cafe sits adjacent but they do stop tours a little earlier than closing time along with the cafe. This is a worthwhile and educational tour that teaches us how important these little guys are in in our world....just love bees!

Enjoy your experience!

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews