We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of The Khan

The Khan
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Northcote
Price range: US$28 - US$34
Description: The Khan is an Asian-fusion buffet restaurant highlighting the essence of Korean cuisine with a twist. It brings together Asian cooking styles that blends with the kiwi culture. The Mongolian style grill sits in the heart of the restaurant with new additions like steamboat. Our meats and seafood range varies beyond other buffets and that's what makes us stand apart. Give your pallets a taste of our freshly cooked food, created by yourself and we guarantee you'll be coming around for seconds.
Restaurant details
Description: The Khan is an Asian-fusion buffet restaurant highlighting the essence of Korean cuisine with a twist. It brings together Asian cooking styles that blends with the kiwi culture. The Mongolian style grill sits in the heart of the restaurant with new additions like steamboat. Our meats and seafood range varies beyond other buffets and that's what makes us stand apart. Give your pallets a taste of our freshly cooked food, created by yourself and we guarantee you'll be coming around for seconds.
Reviewed 19 October 2018

This used to be a family favourite when it was Gengys and we haven't been for a while. While the decor has been spruced up the food has definately gone downhill and we will never be going again. The variety in both meat and vegetables has decreased and I was so worried about the meat quality that I ate vegetables only. The steak smelled off and all the meat chiller trays were warm. The drink selection is seriously reduced - no real kids drinks at all which is a pity as the old traffic light drinks were excellent. I asked for a chardonney and was given a sav, and not a good quality one at that. When I querieed this, apparently they don't do chardonney by the glass. The place was pretty much empty for a Thursday night and I can see why.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2017

Food was Yummy and even tho there was a large groop booking there we had our food within minutes. Great night and will certainly be back.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alanimal32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Formerly Gengy's, now The Khan. Redecorated and a fresh look about the whole place. Service quick and pleasant. variety very good - soup, entree, main, dessert. All good quality, well presented. I would recommend this place especially to families.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 637grahamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Visited in November 2017 with 3 others. Name changed and new decor and otherwise spruced up. This is a Mongolian BBQ. Everything about it was an improvement from previous occupants. Help yourself to a large number of options - with soup, entree, main, dessert all there for the choosing. We really enjoyed it.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 637grahamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Went as a family - 4 adults and one child. Were greeted at door and shown to a table - had the system explained. We all chose our meats and veg and sauces and took to the grill. The cooks were polite and friendly and put on a real show for us. The food was well cooked - they took a lot of care to ensure all meat - especially chicken- was cooked through - and the flame was quite spectacular. Took some extras from the hot buffet to bolster the plate that had been cooked, and enjoyed it all very much - especially the extremely hot chilli sauce (had some extra of that as I really like hot sauces). The hot plate on the table with plenty of veg and other items was also a hit. Our granddaughter loved it and filled to bursting. Dessert was fairly plain but good enough as we didn't really need much after a couple (or three) visits to the grill. The servers were good at clearing away used plates and were polite and friendly. I see some people had poor visits but can't understand where they had cold food - the grill stuff was presented hot, and the hot plate area was very hot. Our servers were very attentive as well. Admittedly we went early with a little child, but the place filled up fast and everybody seemed to be having a ball - with plenty of return visits to the grill. We'd go back again quite happily. We've also discovered that there is a similar restaurant in Hastings where we live and that will be on our agenda in the short term

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Khan also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing