We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mareepc
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Stunning location and great facilities for families, bit of TLC needed

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2019via mobile
We have stayed at the Sands probably 4-5 times now, you can’t beat the location on Onetangi beach as it is just beautiful. Facilities are also great for self catering families. There were a few things that needed maintenance - the heated towel rail was off the wall, hand towel rail also and one of the bathroom taps fell off. Reception were very helpful in gettting things fixed but for the price the rooms need a bit more attention. We had a great stay though and will be back.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.6 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.5 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
  • Priceline
2.2 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.8 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
3.7 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.7 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Citylights - Designed for pleasure.
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.9 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
24.8 km from The Sands - Waiheke Island
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Onetangi
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
32
20
8
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
20
8
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2019

Average Hotel and lazy & dodgy owners.
Stayed here over early January of this year, the room itself had no milk in the fridge yet they supply "Tea & coffee making facilities" we question the owner and he says that he went up to get toilet paper but didn't get any milk. No apology or any resolution provided. The owner is barely there and the reception closes at random points during the day, in case of an emergency the owner wouldn't be on site and anywhere to be seen which is a mild concern for the guests safety. They call themselves the "sands" a beachfront hotel which you would associate with the beach, yet they have no where to hang swimwear when it is wet, so therefore using common sense most people would hang wet swimwear over the ledge of the window to let it dry. Because of us doing that we ended up coming back from our holiday to a over $200 fine. The owner had said to us that it was all because of a stain on the window from the togs/swimwear drying. Now I don't know if he knows how to put two and two together; togs,drying...the hotel provided no where to hang your swimwear when you get back from the beach. Also this beachfront hotel called "The Sands" has a rule to have no sand in the rooms yet most people staying are going to the beach where of course there will be sand, what a shocker! There is no consideration for the practical side of this "beach front" hotel and no consideration for the guests experience. The owner takes advantage of the guests payments and steals money for the most unreasonable situations without the authority, explanation and permission from the guests. The owner had however said they will get in contact with us if they couldn't get the stain out and then they will proceed to charge us, no form of contact and here we are with a charge that we were not told about. This owner is sneaky to think that they can put charges on guests accounts well after they've checked out and not let them know about it. If they thought about the kind of location they are in they would have known that people are going to go swimming. It's really not that difficult to understand. A real shame about the lazy standard for one of Waiheke's top spots. Thiefs,dodgy and arrogant. Don't EVER stay here unless you want to drink coffee without milk and come home to a large fine on your bank statement.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mia_Bennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke A, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Well, as you see from this review we had a guest that didn't enjoy there stay down to one reason only, they left a pair of new togs on the stone tiling and the dye from the togs leached onto the stone tiles badly staining the white tiles pink.
The Apartments are all equipped with Drying racks and have clothes dryers as well. The other 31 apartments staying at the same time seemed to have found these.
As to the owners not being on site, this is just not true, the site is manned from 0830-1800 every day and there is an on-call bell to alert the manager at anytime day or night.
The $200 fee is quite plainly in our terms and conditions for unreasonably bad damage to an apartment.
We also don't have any rule about no sand in the apartments.
This is a revenge review based on being charged $200 for damaging the tiling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the open lounge windows and main bedroom was breathtaking. As two couples I appreciated the ensuite bathrooms for each bed room. Plenty of luxurious towels and beach towels were available from reception. Loved the recliner lounge chairs too. We cooked a few meals and found what we needed in the kitchen. There was also a washing machine, dryer and air dryer which proved handy. There are bbqs available on site but we didn't use these. In literally a few steps you were standing on the beach. A little bit of luxury in paradise.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank maitai2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2018

On arrival, the manager did not even get up from his chair to greet us. The room was not ready which was not a problem at all, however we returned at the allotted time to find no one to check us in, a child seated at the desk said his Dad would be back soon. 30 minutes later he arrived.
An ideal location, facing the beach at the end of a quiet road.The accommodation is spacious and well appointed for self catering. House keeping could be more attentive to cleaning details, bugs in light fittings etc. I did expect self catering but not self cleaning. For that rate I do not expect to carry my garbage to a central bin area overflowing with garbage. Bales of linen left in the passage is also not very appealing.
Disappointing was management's inability and unwillingness to control noise after midnight. In fact, they contributed to the noise. The worst part of the stay was the use of foul profanity in reference to paying Guests. Don't they realise that it is these Guests that pay their salary? An apology and discount was offered the next day. Unprofessional management does not encourage returning Guests.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 212sharon2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The apartment where we stayed (#6) was spacy and light.
Location is really nice, near the beach and it has a big, good bed.
However, it was not very clean (kitchen supplies & bathroom) and some equipment did not work (e.g. bedside lights).
Also the management was not around when we needed them. (I wanted to mention we did not have any milk for example.)

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FienD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheSandsWaiheke, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Sorry, you had a bad stay with us at the Sands,
We will pass your concerns onto the cleaning team and get them to be more diligent in the future. The bedside lights do work the power switch on the wall just needs to be turned on.
We are not 100% on site all the time but provide a mobile contact and a video doorbell to enable instant contact, shame you didn't see these displayed prominently on the door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a fruitful business conference at The Sands, where our group was looked after from start to finish - hosts went above and beyond (including ferrying our group to the restaurant down the road when it was raining). Catering was great, rooms were beautiful. 5stars, would stay again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jameswalkernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews