We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot when touring Waiheke by bus.”
Review of Charlie Farley's

Charlie Farley's
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Onetangi
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here (on the advice of locals) and had a pleasant tasty lunch on a day visit to Waiheke Island.
It was a perfect day and sitting at an outdoor table with beach views added to our enjoyment.
Fish and chips was the main choice of our group and we washed it down with a cold beer.
Highly recommended as the hop on hop off bus stop is very close by.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2024

So, we hit up Charlie's after cruising around Waiheke Island. Tucked right by the beach, it's got both indoor and outdoor seating, and the vibe is buzzing with live music. You'll find a bunch of locals and tourists hanging out, and the best part? It's totally dog-friendly.

Now, onto the nitty-gritty: the service was a bit of a letdown. Orders got mixed up, and we were left twiddling our thumbs for way too long. Despite that hiccup, if you're into laid-back vibes and good grub, Charlie's could be worth a shot.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank natefriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2024

I'm frankly astonished at all the poor reviews. I visited recently with family including 2 picky toddlers and someone who is a coeliac. The restaurant team seemed really clued up about gluten free food and were able to suggest suitable choices and confirmed they had a gluten free frier. The children really enjoyed their fish and chips which were beautifully presented in a bento box The other food was good too. Service was prompt and friendly. All in all it was a super family lunch.

Yes, the toilets are a bit small... but that's not how I rate my restaurants.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoungerLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Other at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Hi LoungerLizard, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our restaurant with us! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, especially with accommodating dietary needs, we take all dietary requirements seriously and make sure all our staff is knowledgeable about this. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

Great place for service and food, just don’t use the bathrooms. They are old tired and grubby. There was only a tiny trickle of water in the hand basin and the air hand drier didn’t work. For this reason I wouldn’t return.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank PatJohnvanBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Great place for some appetizers and drinks after walking the beach. There was live music when we were here and it had a great beach vibe.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Charlie Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Charlie Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.