We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family meal”
Review of Charlie Farley's

Charlie Farley's
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Onetangi
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 22 March 2024

I'm frankly astonished at all the poor reviews. I visited recently with family including 2 picky toddlers and someone who is a coeliac. The restaurant team seemed really clued up about gluten free food and were able to suggest suitable choices and confirmed they had a gluten free frier. The children really enjoyed their fish and chips which were beautifully presented in a bento box The other food was good too. Service was prompt and friendly. All in all it was a super family lunch.

Yes, the toilets are a bit small... but that's not how I rate my restaurants.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoungerLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Other at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Hi LoungerLizard, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our restaurant with us! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, especially with accommodating dietary needs, we take all dietary requirements seriously and make sure all our staff is knowledgeable about this. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

Great place for service and food, just don’t use the bathrooms. They are old tired and grubby. There was only a tiny trickle of water in the hand basin and the air hand drier didn’t work. For this reason I wouldn’t return.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank PatJohnvanBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Great place for some appetizers and drinks after walking the beach. There was live music when we were here and it had a great beach vibe.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

Reserved ahead of- lunchtime - seated promptly beach view, really friendly staff - 3 x fish and chips - beautiful - taste and presentation, highly recomnend 😍

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Other at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Hi Erika! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our amazing "office view", friendly staff, and delicious food. Your recommendation means a lot to us! We hope to see you again soon. 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast one morning whilst staying locally and we are so glad we ignored the few poor reviews and listened to the majority.
We were served by 2 very polite and attentive waitresses, who served us delicious tea and coffees, our food followed quickly after and it was exceptional, coupled with an amazing setting.
We had the full breakfast and the avocado on toast, both amazing and the portion sizes were huge.
If (when) we return to Waiheke we will definitely be back.
Keep up the good work and impeccable food, definitely worth all 5 stars.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank sharpey79gfc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Other at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Hi Sharpey79gfc2! We are thrilled to hear about your positive experience at our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beachside restaurant, we pride ourselves on giving top quality service. Thank you for giving us 5 stars and for sharing your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Waiheke!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Charlie Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.