We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, good service. Pretty average over priced menu”
Review of Charlie Farley's

Charlie Farley's
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Onetangi
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

CFs commands a good view of the beach given its location and the staff are friendly. Sadly that’s all the positives, unfortunately the menu is a little off, seemly interesting but just not working. The basics looked.. well pretty basic. Fries were below average looking so we upgraded to the truffle fries which were basically fries with a skimpy dash of Parmasan. I ordered the ceviche which came with raw diced kumera which felt like an odd combination, the rice cracker was stale and chewy., the fish was very raw rather than properly cured. Partner chose the Cesar salad which tasted like it had been sat in the fridge for a few days. The dishes were expensive so you’d expect a little more refinement in flavor and presentation.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Other at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Hi Nadia, thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our view and friendly staff. We apologize for falling short on the menu and the quality of some dishes. We’ll take your comments into consideration to improve both the flavor and presentation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2024

This place is OK for coffee and maybe a beer. . The view is great, the staff are friendly, and the fries are good. But we went for dinner yesterday and were VERY disappointed. The waitress suggested the favourites and we ordered . My partner had the wagyu burger. This was a simple affair with a crumbed onion ring and the patties and a gherkin, and nothing else. It was however the best of the meal . My grand daughter had the salmon poke bowl, but did not eat any of it it as the whole had an odd dressing, the salmon was cut up into small pieces and mixed / jumbled up with odd things not expected in a poke bowl. I ordered the caesar salad : a whole bowl of cos lettuce with brown patches, prawns with heads on that were not very fresh, a refrigerated poached egg (!) stale croutons and again an odd dressing. The anchovies were one good thing taste wise, but were a bit odd with the cold egg and the prawns . Quite disgusting. The truffle fries were nice so we ate them up and drank more wine. I would suggest you think twice before going to Charlies for anything apart from a coffee, which is such a pity. Onetangi needs a more casual restaurant ( the other 2 are high priced with a dress code which seems crazy for a beach) but really it should be serving good quality simple food.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank QuietSeeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2023

Great spot close to the beach! I used to be a regular, but unfortunately the last couple of times I have been disappointed. Experience tarnished due to menu deterioration - options have reduced along with plate diversity and portion sizes. Fish and chips is literally just that (when previously served with a nice salad), $27 for an entree of calamari (again, full plate of fried food with a few dollops of hummus). Would prefer more garnish on my plate from an establishment, rather than entirely fried food, otherwise would rather opt for takeaway fish and chips on the beach. Alternatively, would rather spend an extra $5-$10 for a delicious main and classier service at neighbouring restaurants.

Date of visit: December 2023
1  Thank Flyer440286
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2023 via mobile

Relaxing beach restaurant with a great view over Onetangi beach. We came here twice during our trip and loved the vibe. We just had beers and snacks, but the menu offers much more. A great place to hang out and watch the waves. It is on the hop on hop off bus route and we also saw the regular island busses stopping here. Very friendy staff.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Janiliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Marketing at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Hi Janiliba, thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our beach restaurant and the relaxing vibe. We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back soon for more than just beers and snacks. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023 via mobile

Enjoyed the sea breeze under a large shady tree. Delicious and light seafood chowder. Excellent burgers. Quick service and very friendly staff. A few steps away from the beach and bus stop.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Marketing at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2023

Hi Shelley, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed the sea breeze and found our seafood chowder and burgers delicious. Our team takes pride in providing quick service and being friendly. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Charlie Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.