We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and excellent service”
Review of Charlie Farley's

Charlie Farley's
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Onetangi
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2023 via mobile

Beautiful location right on Onetangi Beach, Waiheke Island. We both found our meals delicious. Krystal, our waitress, was excellent. So attentive, efficient and friendly. Thanks. We will be back.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Marketing at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2023

Thank you, Lynda, for your kind review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your delicious meals and received excellent service from Krystal, we think she is excellent as well. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful location on Onetangi Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2023

Charlie's is our closest restaurant so even though we have had very bad experiences in the past, it is convenient and used-to be cheap, so we occasionally gave it "one more go" - no more.

Our most recent experience in September will be our last visit - I give up. In the past the service has been atrocious bordering on insulting but last year the food improved a bit - no more. The food has gone downhill big time, with the removal of the vegan options I had a tiny weeny plate of rubber calamari for $25 - tasteless and expensive with a homemade dipping sauce which taste like washing-up liquid. Why can't they just buy commercial sauces that are at least edible ?

Sorry Charlie's you have run out of last chances - myself and extended family will not be wasting our time at your terrible cafe again.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrevorD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Marketing at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2023

Hi Trevor, thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience at our restaurant. We appreciate your previous support and understand your disappointment. We take your concerns seriously and will discuss how we can improve with our new summer menu launching Oct 30th, we would really hope you would give us one last chance with this new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

We do love it here, burgers are gorgeous. This time we came after the rugby had been on and they were pretty slammed but the kids chicken was quite dry and overcooked. The kids meals come in a bento box with a cake and tomato and cucumber so it’s fun for them. They looked like they were doing tacos for an event and they looked amazing so give them a try but send the food back if it’s not to your liking instead of doing what we did.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Xtravagance22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Marketing at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2023

Hi Xtravagance22, thank you for your review and for enjoying our burgers. We apologize for the disappointing kids meal. We appreciate your feedback and will work on improving the consistency of our kids meals. We do have our new summer menu launching Oct 30 so we hope you can give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2023

Staff was amazing! Food was good- loved the smash burger. Spectacular views. Great time all around!

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Tour34166818623
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlie Farleys, Marketing at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Hi Tour, thank you for the kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great time with our amazing staff, delicious food and spectacular views. Your review made our day, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

Ok but nothing like as good as before
The staff are really good but the guy behind the bar is obnoxiously loud and puts a damper on the chilled atmosphere

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank GoPlaces825269
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mat Carpenter, General Manager at Charlie Farley's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Hi GoPlaces825269, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. We apologize for our bartenders boisterous behavior. We'll definitely address this internally to ensure a more enjoyable atmosphere in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Charlie Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.