We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and atmosphere”
Review of Charley Farley's

Charley Farley's
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great location and atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We went here two nights on our visit. The location just across the road from Onetangi beach is perfect viewing and there are plenty of tables outside to take advantage of the view and the evening sun.

There is a good choice of beers - and note that Thursday 5-7 is happy hour. There was also a guy playing guitar and singing on the Thursday night and he was excellent - really good music but also great rapport with the audience.

On our second night we ate there and the food and service were very good. The burgers - lamb, pulled pork etc - had plenty of meat in them. The guy serving outside (the manager?) was especially on the ball.

As far as the bar staff are concerned, the young guy with black hair was very pleasant whereas the other guy with sandy coloured hair was a miserable and ignorant g*t. He needs to sort himself out or move over for someone who understands what good service means.

All in all though a great place to go and we thoroughly enjoyed both nights.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    195
    65
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent location on Onetangi beach. Has a good varied menu, but the burgers are the best! One of the more casual places to eat on Waiheke, to pop in when spending the day at the beach. The service is ok, sometimes we have found there's a noticeable gap of time between each person's food coming out, but this is never a big issue.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank annachap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We arrived after the kitchen closed and they were kind enough to cook us a meal. Great coffee, good food and in an incredible location.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank sueandpeter2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Casual dining in a festive atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We left winter behind in the US and enjoyed an outdoor lunch upon arriving in NZ! Great place to bring a family. Love dining outside in the sun. Good food. You have to go inside and order at the counter; can bypass the main line to order from the bar (including espresso drinks). Service was not a problem, but if it had been a little better I may have gone with 5 stars.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank shadycat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Super place for a pint and a quick bite on an amazing beach”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Great beach front restaurant, cold beer, yummy salads, burgers, fries etc. Grab a table, head up to the counter and place your order. They give you a number that you place on your table and 5 to 10 minutes later fresh home cooked food appears delivered by delightful wait staff.

Good beer selection, cold glasses. Really a nice place.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charley Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Charley Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing