We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tropical Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Evenings at Tropical Hideaway are always a beautiful experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Evenings at Tropical Hideaway are always a beautiful experience
The beautiful coral stone seats by the Gazebo and what a view The beautiful Pool House is very well furnished and has quality appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Evenings at Tropical Hideaway are always a beautiful experience
The beautiful coral stone seats by the Gazebo and what a view
The beautiful Pool House is very well furnished and has quality appliances
The kitchen area is very spacious and has professional quality equipment throughout
This lovely veranda has stunning views overlooking the Caribbean Sea
Beautiful views of tropical gardens  and Admiralty Bay from the Pool House bedroom
The heated Infinity Pool has a swim up Pool Bar is rated one of the 10 best pools in the Caribbean
One of the entrances to the Pool House is  through the sunken Pool Bar
The Infinity Pool with one of the Pool House veranda's on the bottom right
Evenings at Tropical Hideaway are as beautiful as the days are
Beautiful Bequia. Charming, friendly, unspoilt with pristine white sandy beaches
Princess Margaret Beach. Simply stunning. 5min by car or 20min walk to the island's best beach
Snorkelling around one of Princess Margaret Beach headlands can be very good
Princess Margaret Beach. Beautiful white sand, uncrowded, unspoilt and totally safe.
A stunning nightime photo of the Infinity Pool and Tropical Hideaway Villa behind
Sunsets can be stunning from Tropical Hideaway and this photo is taken from the sunken Pool Bar
The heated Infinity Pool is suitable for all year round use and has the most amazing views
The living area has patio doors leading onto a covered patio with beautiful views of the sea
The Gazebo day bed adjoins the Infinity Pool and has stunning views of the Caribbean Sea
Sunsets can be incredible and this photo is taken from the Gazebo day bed
Views from the Gazebo day bed are stunning and are forever changing as ships come and go
The adjoining patio area is very large and is furnished with sun loungers, tables and parasols
Looking from the kitchen area to the main bedroom with beautiful views of the bay
The main bedroom has sliding doors leading to a patio area. A barbecue is nearby
The fully equipped kitchen has a 6 burner cooker and fridge freezer with icemaker
Sunbathing on the hammock with an amazing view. Simply lovely
One of my favourite views. Sunset over the Infinity Pool. Simply breathtaking
Another sunset, another day and another incredible view
The Worlds largest sailing ship on the edge of the Infinity Pool. Simply breathatking
The open plan bedroom leading off from the living area
The dining area next to the kitchen has a lovely round table complete with ash wood chairs
The internal dining area is very spacious and is equipped to the very highest standards
The living area is well furnished and has a lovely veranda overlooking the Caribbean Sea
The large pool patio area in front of the pool has plenty of chairs, sun mats and parasols
Nearly 60ft long, the Pool House is spacious, very private and luxuriously furnished throughout
Lovely views of the Infinity Pool and the Caribbean Sea from the Gazebo
The night time ambience at Tropical Hideaway is stunning
One of the Pool House veranda's. A great place to relax
The kaleidoscope colours of the Caribbean Sea match the Infinity Pool
The natural stone pebbles blend in so well with the Caribbean Sea
The Infinity Pool is tiled using natural stone pebbles and heated for all year round use
The living room patio has a hammock, cartwheel table and rattan style lounger armchairs
The West facing veranda has beautiful sunset and Caribbean Sea views
The stunning Infinity Pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea with Hamilton Fort on the right
The views are always changing as sailing yachts and ships come and go
Beautiful sailing ships come and go giving us an ever changing view
The place to be.... Sunset in or around the Infinity Pool is simply amazing
Another lovely day ends with a beautiful sunset
The Infinity Pool in the evening is simply stunning
This is actually a real sunset taken from inside the Infinity Pool.
A photo of the Infinity Pool as it is being slowly filled with water
The Gazebo with the barbecue area in front as seen from the path to Hibiscus Cottage
This stunning photo was taken on a busy New Years Eve  from inside the Infinity Pool
Be careful you don't float over the edge
Floating in heaven as one guest said
The views looking over the infinity edge are amazing
The  famous World cruise ship on the edge of the Infinity Pool
Looking over the Infinity Pool from inside the sunken Pool Bar
Another sunset and another day in paradise
Sunbathing mats on the coral stone pool deck
This very large and luxurious bathroom is tiled with natural Coral
The spacious and well equipped dining and kitchen area
The beautiful white sandy beach of Princess Margaret. 20 min walk or 5 mins by car
Snorkelling is good around both the headlands on Princess Margaret Beach
Princess Margaret Beach. The best on the island, pristine, safe and totally unspoilt
Lovely Fay selling some of her souvenirs on Princess Margaret Beach
Princess Margaret Beach. Crystal clear water, pristine, safe and unspoilt
Princess Margaret Beach. Unspoilt, pristine with crystal clear water
Jack's Bar on Princess Margaret Beach serves excellent food
The pontoon at Jack's Bar. Princess Margaret Beach
An aerial view taken with our drone helicopter
The Infinity Pool with the view of Admiralty Bay in front
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest
The recently restored Belmont Walkway leads to 3 of Bequia's best beaches.
The Belmont Walkway as it climbs around the headland joins the 3 main beaches together
The world famous Frangipani Hotel on the Belmont Walkway
There are two excellent dive and snorkelling shops on Bequia
Tropical Hideaway is surrounded by lush natural forest and has the most amazing views
Tropical Hideaway has the most amazing setting and views of the Caribbean Sea
The Infinity Pool has dramatic views overlooking the Caribbean Sea
Your hosts Martin and Julie on Princess Margaret Beach
Tropical Hideaway as seen from afar
There are many dayboats and sailing yachts offering a day charter to nearby islands
Getting married on the beach is a dream for many and can easily be arranged.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Richmond, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lauren_m...
Kingstown, St. Vincent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Perfection”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My experience at Tropical Hideaway was absolutely fantastic. The accommodations are above and beyond anything I have been offered in the area, the prices are very reasonable, and the property is absolutely breathe-taking. Martin and Julie are the most wonderful hosts; they really make it feel like home. I cannot recommend this property highly enough - I will most definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the infinity pool is incredible!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon V
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Spacious, elegant accomadations - exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Tropical Hideaway Pool House was perfect for my vacation with my brother. There are two separate bedrooms so we each had our own space. The kitchen has full size refrigerator and stove and made it so easy to fix simple meals from vegetables we purchased in town. We had two verandahs facing opposite directions (one east, the other west) so we could be in the sun or the shade no matter what time of day. The roofs over the verandahs covered them enough so we could sit outside even in the rain and not get wet. We spent most of our time outside so didn't really take advantage of the living area with couches and tv, but that would have been great to have if the weather had been rainy for hours at a time. The cross breeze from the verandahs and the ceiling fans made it very comfortable so we never used the air conditioning. I loved the fact that we were just steps away from the pool - I fixed breakfast and took in up on a tray to eat in the morning sun most days. I also liked the privacy of our verandahs.

The Pool House is wonderful all by itself but the hosts, Julie and Martin, make the experience of staying there even better. They stocked the kitchen with some basic foods - bread, cheese, eggs, a few vegetables, beverages, tea, coffee so we had food the day we arrived without having to shop or find a restaurant right away. Later in the week they provided a basil plant and bananas from their tree. Because they live in the main house right there on the property, they were readily available for any questions we had about the area - where to shop, directions on getting some place, recommendations for restaurants or beaches. They met us at the airport and drove us back for our return trip.

The location was great - only a ten minute or less drive into town or a beach. And I could walk to one beach in about 30 minutes (it was down a steep hill, but quite doable). The view from the verandahs and the pool were just amazing - I never tired of them. Watching the sunset and the clouds move across the sky and the boats in the harbor.....just wonderful.

What I liked best was how at home I felt after just a couple of days. I felt safe and relaxed and very comfortable. I will definitely recommend the Pool House to friends - and hope to go back again before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view, the pool area.
Liked least: The steep road driving up to the property.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicken20...
Stroud
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A fantastic family holiday in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was our second trip to Bequia and as we were travelling with children we thought an apartment would suit us better than a hotel. Tropical Hideaway must be the best house on the island. Really beautiful design and the most stunning views. The pool house was perfect for us. We had lots more space than we would have had in a hotel and better facilities: direct access to the pool, a private terrace to sit out on (although we spent most of the time by the lovely pool), a fridge with an endless supply of ice and fresh drinking water, a washing machine (cuts down on luggage when you have kids!). My children were also impressed with the TV and on demand Disney films!!

Tropical Hideaway is well located in Belmont Estate, this is a very central location and close to St Margaret's Beach and Port Elizabeth. We hired a jeep from Gideon and he delivered it to the house for us. The house is very secluded and not overlooked with pretty gardens. The swimming pool is probably the nicest I have ever been in with panoramic views. Martin and Julie were really helpful throughout our stay, local knowledge really helps you make the best of your time here. We had excellent food everywhere we ate. Martin showed us round the other rooms available to stay in, they were all of an excellent standard and the penthouse was amazing. Every room has a great view. Pool house is perfect if you have younger children though, if they were older I would let them have their own room for some peace!!

Lots of things to do, the beaches on Bequia are very clean and never busy. A trip to the Tobago Cays is a must, you always see the turtles when you snorkel off the beach here. We also went over to Mustique, however I think Bequia is much nicer! Mustique didn't really feel like the Caribbean, but I'm glad I can say I've been there! We should have done more, but time seems to fly and we were more than happy relaxing by the pool.

We will definitely be back in the near future and would recommend to anyone looking to stay on Bequia be it for a long holiday or just a stopover. Many thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views and the best swimming pool!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiancaZRa...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“I would give them 10 stars!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012

I am from Montreal, Canada but currently living in St Vincent for Medical School. As such, I grew up taking exciting vacations with family as well as seeing beautiful Caribbean destinations while living down here. No other experience lives up to staying at the Tropical Hideaway. It is literally breathtaking and every inch of the property is perfect.

Julie and Martin have done an incredible job of designing their home, that they graciously share with visitors. We stayed in the pool house and at every room, we were just as impressed with last. It is spacious, bright perfectly designed for a pool-side room. The kitchen is absolutely stunning and had everything we needed and more. We were not sure how much cooking we would be able to do, so we only brought the makings for sandwiches but could have probably made a full course meal! For those who don't want to lift a finger, Julie and Martin provided menus for local restaurants that would deliver. Perfect!

The beds offered the best sleep I have had since coming to St Vincent, and perhaps even before. As medical students, we do lack sleep and we even felt guilty taking naps while the outdoors were so gorgeous.

The infinity pool! Perfect temperature, crystal clear water, swim up bars and the best view of the Bequia harbor. We spent so much time in the pool, day and night. My favourite spot off the pool was a little gazebo that you can swim up to that had an enormous mattress and about a dozen pillows. There is a flat screen TV in there but for me it was the perfect spot to curl up with a book.

This truly is a "tropical hideaway" as it is removed from the bustle of tourist life on Bequia. An absolutely perfect place to spend a weekend or week-long vacation. Very well priced for the experience you will get once you arrive. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The infinity pool
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daria C
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow! Amazing property with breathtaking views...”
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We have truly found paradise on earth! The Tropical Hideaway far exceeded our expectations in all areas and you will find that the photos on the website do not exaggerate anything, in fact any photos of that amazing swimming pool cannot possibly do it justice although we have tried via our photo attachment below. The entire property is an amazing feat of architectural, engineering, and design genius and the attention to detail and the unique quality materials throughout are incredible. Martin and Julie are wonderful and gracious hosts who go out of their way to make your stay perfect regardless of what defines your version of perfect.

As we have friends on Bequia, Martin and Julie suggested a pool party might be in order and they helped us with the planning of that, including sourcing in advance, some special ingredients from their supplier on St. Vincent. Our holiday was further enhanced by the new friends we made who were also guests in other accommodations on the property. Turns out we were all like minded so we got together and planned a pot luck supper including fresh lobster that our hosts helped to secure (very cheaply too!). They also opened up their large covered patio and BBQ for our use and of course, joined in the party. The 3 beautiful Bengal cats (Tonga, Trini, and Tobago) and Missy, the sweetest rottweiler we have ever met topped off the experience. It was wonderful for us to have pets on the property but if you're not an animal lover, that's OK as they are not the 'in your face' kind of pets if you wish to keep your distance. We adopted Tonga during our stay and were sorely tempted to sneak him out in our luggage but Martin was on to us so that plan was thwarted! Overall, this was the best vacation experience we have ever had and we have done a fair amount of travel including 5 previous trips to Bequia. Tropical Hideaway is it from now on!

In the 'Recommendations' section of this review I have checked both the 'Older Travelers' and 'Families with Young Children' boxes but would like to clarify that one must be fit enough to manage some stairs and small children would need to be closely watched. My 79 year old father and his slightly younger lady friend accompanied us and they had no difficulty getting around but we would recommend flashlights for night time for those whose vision might not be perfect. The paths and stairs are very well lit but a little extra lighting helped my Dad ensure his footing at night. He said he would return in a heartbeat.

Thanks again Martin and Julie for providing the most amazing and wonderful vacation experience. We've already told our friends they have to go. We expect Dad and Barbara will submit their own review.

Until next time,
Russ Blakely and Daria Chase
Pickering, Ontario, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool, the Bengals, the view and the amazing starry skies.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$319
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing