We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The Atlantic Road National Tourist Route

The Atlantic Road has National Tourist Route status and the entire stretch between Bud and... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2018
Kmarissen
,
Born, The Netherlands
A Road to See

The Atlantic Road was amazing for me. Just looking at the unique bridges and the view out to the... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2018
RubaGhool
,
Palestinian Territories
Read all 464 reviews
  
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
208
131
91
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
131
91
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atlantic cod bad weather scenic drive norwegian sea great drive open sea snow capped mountains sunny day take pictures nice view engineering feat roller coaster bud tunnel norway storm route
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Do not waste your time going for the drive all the way to Atlantic road. Its nothing extra ordinary. Norway has very many engineering marvels in the form of its tunnels and bridges. We wasted a day doing this and could have easily enjoyed the time doing a hike instead or exploring another town. On an unusually high tide day this drive could be potentially good for adventure seekers but can't guarantee.

Date of experience: July 2018
5  Thank RakshitaA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We drove the 8km section that everyone does, the views we good, but it isn't as amazing as other places we have seen on our trip. We also drove the south side of Averoy which was pleasant. We returned over the 8km section and continued along the scenic tourist road to Bud, less busy and views good. Not worth a special trip in our opinion. It doesn't hold a candle to the other national scenic drive we did which was the Gamle Strynefjellsvegen.

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank Douglas645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

The Atlantic Road was amazing for me. Just looking at the unique bridges and the view out to the ocean from the bridges is great to me. There are parking areas and a short walk to view the area. Worth the drive if you will be in the area or if you are interested in seeing a road built in the ocean :) I heard that it can be dangerous in winter so be careful.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank RubaGhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

As with many other visitors we came here as part of an on-shore trip from a fjord cruise.

A pleasant and well organised trip and an outstanding guide showed us this visually stunning bridge with its illusion of going nowhere!

Views of the bridge change while you observe from the outstandingly presented and maintained walkway. Toilets and restaurant complete this stopover.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Nilindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

It is a pretty drive across the islands and bridges that make up the atlantic road but if need to make a choice spend more time in the fjords.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank scitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews