We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ray M
Newcastle, Australia

The best way possible to experience Tauranga Bay.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2023
The sound, smell and feel of an ocean breeze is just a matter of opening the sliding doors. The beautiful, panoramic view is available from every part of the bungalow, (well, apart from the bathroom, but it has a pretty cool skylight) The accommodation is modern, well appointed and has cooking facilities.
Visiting a seal colony is just a stroll along the beach.
The hosts Sandra and Doc are just lovely people, and being local they can offer great tips on local attractions, shopping and places to eat. Enjoying a breakfast in their dinning area each morning is the perfect way to start the day.
This was our first visit, but I know we'll be visiting again.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Being on the west coast of New Zealand, it would be wise to pack a quality raincoat, just in case.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
$195
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
10.4 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
The Loft Apartments
$169
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
$133
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $133
12.0 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Al fresco dining.
$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $96
  • Expedia.com
    $102
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $148
  • Agoda.com
    $139
  • Priceline
12.0 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Unit, Master Bedroom
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
    $157
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$168
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $168
  • Tripadvisor
    $168
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Foulwind
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts two nights doc sandra studio cleanliness surf balcony units cabin accommodation facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2023

We had a fantastic 2 days with Doc and Sandra at their first rate holiday accommodation. We have been touring in NZ for almost 2 weeks and the accommodation at Cape Foulwind was a step above what we have experience so far. The view to the north across the bay is to be experienced. We went to sleep each evening to the sound of breaking waves. The high end cabin type accommodation has been equipped with quality fittings. The facilities were clean and well maintained. Doc and Sharon met us each morning and delivered a more than adequate and satisfying continental breakfast. The daily fees were a bit above other providers however we were more than happy to pay it as the overall experience was brilliant.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2023

My wife and I stayed at the Bayhouse for two nights in Feb 2023. We had the Studio 1 which is right at the front with unobstructed views. It was a lovely cottage. Top of the range appliances. The bed was super comfortable . The unit was very clean and well presented. Our hosts, Sandra and Doc were lovely people and couldn't do enough for all their guests. I would highly recommend this property even though it is about 15k from Westport. The local pub is only 3 k down the road. 10/10.

Room tip: Studio one is the best view.
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warfield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2023

Pantastic place, very friendly and helpful hosts, it is one of the most wonderful places we have ever been, concerning rooms, their design and cleanliness, concerning hosts and concerning the scenic view to the bay. We also liked the philosophy of the owners towards nature. Breakfast is great with special food and with best coffee I have ever had.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T6752BEmichaelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2023 via mobile

This accommodation has to be experienced to be believed. No expense has been spared in the set up of these delightful units. The setting is stunning with the ability to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view of the surf. The shower is to die for (I could have spent all day in there) Breakfast is absolutely superb with fruit, cereal, cheese, ham, bread, and croissants. Oh and endless Expresso. Doc and Sandra make wonderful hosts with excellent conversation. We can't wait to return.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank geofft629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2023 via mobile

I had visions of being in a cabin with wild windy weather and was thinking why did I book this again. This place is fantastic. Great location, great views, fantastic suites and great friendly people. Continental breakfast was lovely. Didn’t see any penguins but heard a few in the nesting boxes. Wish we could of stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews