We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
malvallance
Ballarat, Australia

A truly memorable experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2023
We had a fantastic 2 days with Doc and Sandra at their first rate holiday accommodation. We have been touring in NZ for almost 2 weeks and the accommodation at Cape Foulwind was a step above what we have experience so far. The view to the north across the bay is to be experienced. We went to sleep each evening to the sound of breaking waves. The high end cabin type accommodation has been equipped with quality fittings. The facilities were clean and well maintained. Doc and Sharon met us each morning and delivered a more than adequate and satisfying continental breakfast. The daily fees were a bit above other providers however we were more than happy to pay it as the overall experience was brilliant.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $204
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Al fresco dining.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $100
  • Priceline
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$145
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $145
12.0 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • StayForLong
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$168
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $168
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Basic Studio
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $155
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deck
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $106
  • eDreams
12.4 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio
$164
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$291
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Agoda.com
12.4 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Foulwind
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts two nights doc sandra studio cleanliness surf balcony units cabin accommodation facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2023

My wife and I stayed at the Bayhouse for two nights in Feb 2023. We had the Studio 1 which is right at the front with unobstructed views. It was a lovely cottage. Top of the range appliances. The bed was super comfortable . The unit was very clean and well presented. Our hosts, Sandra and Doc were lovely people and couldn't do enough for all their guests. I would highly recommend this property even though it is about 15k from Westport. The local pub is only 3 k down the road. 10/10.

Room tip: Studio one is the best view.
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warfield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2023

Pantastic place, very friendly and helpful hosts, it is one of the most wonderful places we have ever been, concerning rooms, their design and cleanliness, concerning hosts and concerning the scenic view to the bay. We also liked the philosophy of the owners towards nature. Breakfast is great with special food and with best coffee I have ever had.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T6752BEmichaelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2023 via mobile

This accommodation has to be experienced to be believed. No expense has been spared in the set up of these delightful units. The setting is stunning with the ability to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view of the surf. The shower is to die for (I could have spent all day in there) Breakfast is absolutely superb with fruit, cereal, cheese, ham, bread, and croissants. Oh and endless Expresso. Doc and Sandra make wonderful hosts with excellent conversation. We can't wait to return.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank geofft629
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2023 via mobile

I had visions of being in a cabin with wild windy weather and was thinking why did I book this again. This place is fantastic. Great location, great views, fantastic suites and great friendly people. Continental breakfast was lovely. Didn’t see any penguins but heard a few in the nesting boxes. Wish we could of stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2022

My wife and I have travelled extensively all over the world, and The Bay House is one of then best experiences we have had. We had Cottage 1, and the ocean view is right in your face. You lie in bed and hear the waves crash and the view is amazing. Sandra and Doc were amazing hosts and went out of their way to make sure our experience was first rate. The cottages are modern and contemporary and even included a "Japanese" toilet. You will love your stay here.

Room tip: Cottage 1 is the best.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeterV2Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews