We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
geofft
Richmond, New Zealand

Just wow

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2023via mobile
Hotel's Favourite
This accommodation has to be experienced to be believed. No expense has been spared in the set up of these delightful units. The setting is stunning with the ability to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view of the surf. The shower is to die for (I could have spent all day in there) Breakfast is absolutely superb with fruit, cereal, cheese, ham, bread, and croissants. Oh and endless Expresso. Doc and Sandra make wonderful hosts with excellent conversation. We can't wait to return.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$206
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $206
  • Hotels.com
    $201
  • Expedia.com
    $206
3.7 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free parking
The beach view apartment offers a kitchenette, a modern well appointed bathroom and off road parking.  Free Unlimited Wi-fi  - Suitable for 1-2 guests
$198
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Agoda.com
9.5 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $170
10.4 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
  • Priceline
    $133
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
12.0 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Al fresco dining.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $98
  • Priceline
    $102
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $144
12.0 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Unit, Master Bedroom
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    $150
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $162
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
$174
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $174
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Basic Studio
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $135
  • Priceline
    $141
12.2 km from The Bay House Beachfront Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Foulwind
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts two nights doc sandra studio cleanliness surf balcony units cabin accommodation facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2023 via mobile

I had visions of being in a cabin with wild windy weather and was thinking why did I book this again. This place is fantastic. Great location, great views, fantastic suites and great friendly people. Continental breakfast was lovely. Didn’t see any penguins but heard a few in the nesting boxes. Wish we could of stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2022

My wife and I have travelled extensively all over the world, and The Bay House is one of then best experiences we have had. We had Cottage 1, and the ocean view is right in your face. You lie in bed and hear the waves crash and the view is amazing. Sandra and Doc were amazing hosts and went out of their way to make sure our experience was first rate. The cottages are modern and contemporary and even included a "Japanese" toilet. You will love your stay here.

Room tip: Cottage 1 is the best.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeterV2Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Set on a peninsula looking directly out on the surf break at the epic Tauranga Bay, “The Bayhouse” is effectively a luxury lodge that’s an accessible treat. Better than that, the hosts Doc and Sandra have thought of everything and deliver it with genuine care and interest. If you’re a bit of a finickity chap like me, you’ll appreciate the attention to detail that’s gone in here. From the hardwood floors and bench top, automatic blinds, a bathroom like an oasis and the coup de grace; The Throne Bidet System which really is “the future of toilets” and leaves you wondering how you’ll survive returning home again. The weather was great while we were here. This is a gem and pretty hard to compare with anywhere else I’ve been. Thoroughly recommend and will return.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jwgallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

Directly overlooking beautiful Tauranga Bay with its wild waves & many surfers, this must be one of the best places to stay ever. Tucked away down a dead end road leading to a headland. Wonderful, warm, beautiful chalets with all the latest modcons & incredible views of the whole bay ( front chalet) & changing weather & skies. Super clean. Great hosts. Breakfast was excellent. Had dinner at the Star Tavern down the road - great West Coast experience & food was excellent.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisbeth1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

For our recent trip to the West Coast we chose to stay at the Bay House Beachside, based on it’s many excellent reviews, and we’re delighted to report that the decision to stay there was one of the best travel choices we’ve ever made.

Nestled on a bush covered hillside on the south side of Tauranga Bay the suites boast stunning views of the bay and Cape Foulwind to the north. These studio units, having been crafted with great care by the owners, offer comfort and elegance amidst a surprising solitude.

First class accommodations; stunning views from your private balcony; delicious breakfasts so generous as to make further meals all but unnecessary; clean, modern furnishings carefully designed to make your stay indulgently comfortable ... everything about this place screams “quality”.

And to top it all off are your delightful hosts Sandra & Doc, who work overtime to ensure that you feel welcome and taken care of.

If you’re looking for the cheapest place to stay on the Coast, then this isn’t the place for you. But if you’re looking for world-class quality, comfort, cleanliness, breathtaking scenery, wonderful food and the best bar in the region ... then this is the only place to stay.

We look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews