We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
US$262
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$327
US$315
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$724
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$600
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
US$269
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
US$485
US$295
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$711
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$666
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,597)
Filter reviews
12,597 results
Traveller rating
6,623
3,635
1,453
517
369
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,623
3,635
1,453
517
369
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonvilla marinaprivilege loungedaisy clubpool barcasa del marmike's coffee shopprivilege packageprivilege beachprivilege guestscrepe restaurantthe lion kingquiet poolentertainment staffactivity poolmake reservationsfoam party
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 12,597 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

This resort, and the grounds were beautiful. Especially at night. Everything is within walking distance, but just spread out enough. No need for golf carts to get from your room to the pool (like we have stayed before which can get annoying) and the view of the ocean from any pool is fantastic. Check in was seamless as well. Food was always great, and Mikes coffee shop was a wonderful added bonus. We did do the privilege (for the selected liquor) but were never at the privilege pool, (to quiet for us, but relaxing and so nice) we spent more time at the pool with music, etc. Met wonderful people and just had a great time all around! We will be back!

Room Tip: All views from any room seem to be perfect
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your last vacations. We are happy to read that you chose to reserve our Privilege package and to be pampered with the special benefits and facilities it has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share this review and for giving us the opportunity to evaluate our performance and improve the level of service delivered to our valued guests. We are glad you got to enjoy all the great food we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Best regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This was our first time at an Ocean Hotel and at this resort. My husband, my mom and I spent 10 wonderful days here.

Check-in went smoothly. We booked two Junior Suite Ocean view rooms (third floor - there are elevators). Upon arrival, we upgraded to Privilege services. Best idea we had. Thank you to Marisol (reception) and Kathleen (Privilege) reception. Excellent service.

The rooms are spacious and very well-kept. Loved taking our first cup of coffee on the balcony overlooking the palm trees and the water in the distance. Gracias a nuestra camarista Monica para el cuidado de nuestra habitación. Note, wifi is included - the connection is very good.

Buffet and restaurants

Casa Del Mar is the main buffet. We ate our breakfast there. Gracias a Susanna, the hostess - very friendly and welcoming every morning. Gracias en particular a Wilbert y a Edna por la mañana. Gracias a Lorena, sus smoothies eran muy ricos y gracias a Xochelt por sus omeletes. We had dinner at the main buffet only a couple of times since we tried many of the restaurants. Thank you to our waiters José, Raul and Giovanni for the service you provided. There is wide variety and a good selection of food.

La Creperie, located next to the Privilege quiet pool is great for lunches. Their salads are delicious as well as their crepes. Jesus, Freddy and Victor were our waiters while we were there.

We also had lunch many times at the Privilege lounge - tapas style. Excellent food, excellent service. Dinner at the Privilege lounge was a treat. At night, it is à la carte. Alot of choices, all delicious. Gracias a Javier, Freddy y Victor y gracias en particular a Carlos por sus espressos y sus capuchinos.

Villa Marina (seafood, steak grill) restaurant is by the pool (also a lunchtime buffet). Had steak and ribs one evening. Yummy. Angel was our waiter.

Blue Moon is the romantic French restaurant. We went twice. Viridiana is the hostess and Gabriel and Zuriel were our waiters. Once again, the food and service were excellent.

Lastly, we went to the Rittrato d’Italia. Diana is the hostess and Carlos was our waiter. Enjoyable evening.

I may sound like a broken record, but this is the first time we have been to a resort where each evening’s dinner equaled or surpassed the previous one. The best food we’ve had over all and we’ve travelled quite a bit.

For coffee, tea, etc. there is Mikes Cafe. Pablo makes delicious coffees.

Beach/pool

The beach is great for taking long walks. Unfortunately, the comments that other visitors have made concerning seaweed are true. There was a lot of seaweed. The workers weren’t able to keep up. Due to the abundance of seaweed, the water is not clear. This is a deterrent for guests who would otherwise wish to return.

We were on the Privilege side of the beach. There are many palapas and you don’t have to get up early to reserve them. There is service on the beach and we were fortunate that Gabriela Castillo was our beach waitress. She is very friendly, very efficient, very hard working. Gracias a Gabriela por el excelente servicio.

There are four pools in all, the “bar” pool (Coral), the pool near Villa Marina (Turquesa), the ‘Daisy’ pool and the quiet Privilege pool. There are plenty of chairs, sunbeds but you have to get up early to secure one. There is music and activities/entertainment. The towel hut is right next to the pool area and there is also one near the Privilege section.

Once again, we cannot complain about the service we received. The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient! Bravo to Ocean Coral Y Turquesa. We appreciated and enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must - higher floors
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DPHMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you so much for choosing OCT as your hotel of destination in the Riviera Maya. It is great to read that you had such a great time in our resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our gastronomical offer in our different restaurants. It is really rewarding to read that you had such a good time in our hotel with our hard working, friendly staff. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments on this page. And we look forward to receive you again in our hotel. Best Regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Rooms were very clean. Bartender at the “quiet pool” was outstanding. Food was mediocre and many in the party got sick at least one day. Beach was terrible with stinky seaweed. Clearly it’s a year round problem with permanent signs everywhere. They try their best to keep up with it, but it’s too overwhelming. Definitely not the fault of the hotel, but this is not the hotel to visit if you’re looking for a beautiful beach location. Very close to airport- but plus. The wedding we were here for was beautiful. Overall was a fine vacation, but would definitely check out a hotel with better beach area next time.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Krista S, Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience with us, we lament to hear that we do not please your expectations, be sure that we will trasmit to the correspondent department in order to improve our service even better, The seaweed is natural process of the mother nature, we clean the beach every day. Best regards, Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We just returned from a week at Ocean Coral & . We visited with five other families, with kids aged 6 – 16. We had a wonderful time and were all thoroughly impressed with the resort, especially as several of us had stayed at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya and the Iberostar Pariaso Maya in previous years, and spent far more money to stay at those resorts. Given the drastically lower price, our expectations were much lower. We were all blown away by how great the resort was and what a value it was

Ride to the resort was quick with the always efficient USA Transfers. Check in was also speedy and our room was ready. There was a brief appeal to do the premium tour. We politely declined and were not bothered again during our stay.

The food at all of the restaurants was delicious, probably one of the best AI resorts we have been to food wise. I wish there were more servers as we typically didn’t receive drinks until half way through breakfast or lunch. The waiters/waitresses they had were hustling, there were simply not enough of them. Same with the bartenders. Two bartenders for the packed swim up bar is not enough. Carlos and Orlando did a great job and were constantly hustling, but there was always a fairly decent wait given the sheer volume of people.

There are not as many scheduled activities as at the larger resorts, to be expected when we have paid so much less. We loved the afternoon entertainment at the main pool. The Pink Party singers were fabulous! The giant slide and foam party were great fun too. We really enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings, listening to their live music or pre-show. We far preferred that to the crowded, hot theatre. While Grease was good, it was uncomfortable in the theatre when it was gorgeous outside. The after hours DJ pool-side was super fun but it would have been better if the DJ took requests. He was rather surly about it, we only wanted to hear Hey Baby, the song they played daily by the pool.
Christian from the Entertainment staff was the most visible and engaging we met during the week – whether poolside, on the beach volleyball court, or during the evening

The room was fine and a dehumidifier was already in the room when we arrived. It worked great, I only had to empty it once, as I suspect our housekeeping did it daily. The day it was full and stopped working there was a noticeable musty smell, but within a few minutes of it running, the smell was gone.

Overall we loved this resort and will definitely return. A few more staff members and a nicer DJ would make it perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank amypeteBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you so much for choosing OCT as your hotel of destination in the Riviera Maya. It is great to read that you had such a great time in our resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our gastronomical offer in our different restaurants. It is really rewarding to read that you had such a good time in our hotel with our hard working, friendly staff. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments on this page, this way we have a chance to approve and provide even better service to our guests. And we look forward to receive you again in our hotel. Best Regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

This was not my first time to the Riviera Maya area, but my first time at a resort in the area.

I was worried for a bit, not doing the privillage upgrade, but totally didn't need it.

1. We had welcome drinks, when we arrived.

2. Beach drink service at our disposal. Never had an empty glass.

3. Poolside drink service and the daisy pool constantly

4. Bar service was phenomenal.(By the end of the trip I was tried of drinking). I also tried several drink options and shots.

5. Room was fantastic. I didn't really notice a musty smell all that often, however, we were hardly in the room, but to sleep and change.

6. The staff everyone was fantastic. Always felt like I was treated 10 star.

7. Bar tenders looked after me and my husband.

8. The hotel went above and beyond for our anniversary celebrations. Thank you LauNash Goncal for making sure we were so well taken care of. Truly can't Thank you enough.

9. The wedding we attended was amazing. Everyone treated us all well.

10. Hubby got suckered into the time share presentation, but it was all good. Only lasted 45mins and at the end we got our $100 voucher for an excursion.

*I chose a day excursion to Isla Mujeres / Contoy, which I highly recomend. Isla Contoy is a tropical dream.*

11. The beach massages to the left were amazing. I had Lyz Fuentez she was the best.

12. The workers worked so hard to clean the beach of the seaweed. Unfortunate mother cooperated, when she wanted to.

13. The beach walk to Puerto Morelos and back. We planned to take a water taxi back, but it was so nice out, we just walked back.

14. Room service. Oh boy what a treat. We enjoyed it and they were super quick with our food.

15. Tried a few of the restaurants, but my all time favourite by far was the Indoor Italian.

Wasn't keen on the Mexican, however, the drinks there are amazing.

Blue Moon was yummy for what little I could have there. The desert macaroon was to die for and the arugala salad

The blueberry tea at Mike's Coffee Shop

The food at the buffet was ok. Had hoped for a few more options that would suit my specific needs, but I managed to always find something to eat.

My room view was perfect, and maybe next time not be so close to the party pool at night.

The bed was comfortable. Shower, scolding hot. Loved all the toiletries that were given. It was mentioned to us by other travelers about cented toilet paper, but luckily we didn't.

The other downside the room was we had the brick wall, so we couldn't look out off thr balcony.

Rooms were super quite. Only a tiny bit of hall noise. We had building 11, in front of the party pool, so it was noisy at night, but nothing melatonin couldn't fix.

Always got chairs on the beach, Daisy pool and quite pool. I lucked out both times at the party pool and got chairs right away, didn't have to play the towel game.

Felt 10000% safe at all times. Even without my husband there. And by day 2 the staff knew I was there with him, so when he wasn't around they asked for him and when I told them he was gone, they just looked out and looked after me.

I will totally be back again. And maybe next time I will try privillage, just to say I experienced that to have a fair comparison.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Blaze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your last vacations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities, gastronomic offer and the service provided by our staff. We are happy to read that you might want to chose our Privilege package and be pampered with the special benefits and facilities it has to offer during your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to share this review and for giving us the opportunity to evaluate our performance and improve the level of service delivered to our valued guests. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Best regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews