We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Nearby Hotels
US$284
US$271
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
US$294
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$597
US$570
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
US$263
US$226
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$499
US$454
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$441
US$260
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$470
US$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$596
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,408)
Filter reviews
12,408 results
Traveller rating
6,567
3,586
1,406
499
350
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,567
3,586
1,406
499
350
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonvilla marinaprivilege loungedaisy clubpool barmike's coffee shopcasa del marprivilege beachprivilege guestsprivilege packagecrepe restaurantthe lion kingquiet poolactivity poolentertainment staffsexy chocolatemake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 12,408 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort, and the grounds were beautiful. Especially at night. Everything is within walking distance, but just spread out enough. No need for golf carts to get from your room to the pool (like we have stayed before which can get annoying) and the view of the ocean from any pool is fantastic. Check in was seamless as well. Food was always great, and Mikes coffee shop was a wonderful added bonus. We did do the privilege (for the selected liquor) but were never at the privilege pool, (to quiet for us, but relaxing and so nice) we spent more time at the pool with music, etc. Met wonderful people and just had a great time all around! We will be back!

Room Tip: All views from any room seem to be perfect
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your last vacations. We are happy to read that you chose to reserve our Privilege package and to be pampered with the special benefits and facilities it has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share this review and for giving us the opportunity to evaluate our performance and improve the level of service delivered to our valued guests. We are glad you got to enjoy all the great food we have to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Best regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time at OCT and Riviera Maya. The resort is absolutely beautiful and all the staff was friendly. Our room was not available when we arrived (at 3:30 pm) but of course that gave them a couple minutes to have us sit with Luis (who is just a sweetheart) and get scheduled us for the sales pitch presentation the following morning. Once our room was ready, the check in process was smooth and quick. Booked an ocean view room and had the best view! Our room overlooked the "daisy" pool area and that's where we relaxed all week. That pool area had a snack hut along with a bar. Could not say enough about bartender Marcos and the server Angeles. (I think that's her name). Both were super friendly and very attentive.
The room exceeded our expectations. The room was large and spacious and the balcony was huge. The bathroom was a little awkward with only a drape as a door but the shower and the toilet have their own door. The ceiling fan was a great touch and helped keep the room cool. The fridge was not very cool.
Food was very good and staff was always quick and friendly. Breakfast always had a large variety of fresh fruit. There are 3 special stations for omelets and made to order eggs. One downfall during breakfast was the dining room was very very warm. I think ceiling fans would help out immensely. We had dinner at Route 66, the indoor Italian restaurant and Sensi, the Japanese restaurant. All 3 had great food. The manager of the Italian restaurant recommended a perfect wine for us.
If you are a beach person, this might not be the resort for you . The beach area is full of seaweed and the water is brown from it.
All in all, our vacation was great! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 685deanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for having chosen Ocean Coral & Turquesa as the host for your past vacations and for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to know we were able to provide you with a great vacation experience and the perfect room for your stay with us, while enjoying our facilities and the great service provided by our staff. Thank you very much for your preference and for your kind comments; we look forward to host you again in the near future. Warm regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first time at an Ocean Hotel and at this resort. My husband, my mom and I spent 10 wonderful days here.

Check-in went smoothly. We booked two Junior Suite Ocean view rooms (third floor - there are elevators). Upon arrival, we upgraded to Privilege services. Best idea we had. Thank you to Marisol (reception) and Kathleen (Privilege) reception. Excellent service.

The rooms are spacious and very well-kept. Loved taking our first cup of coffee on the balcony overlooking the palm trees and the water in the distance. Gracias a nuestra camarista Monica para el cuidado de nuestra habitación. Note, wifi is included - the connection is very good.

Buffet and restaurants

Casa Del Mar is the main buffet. We ate our breakfast there. Gracias a Susanna, the hostess - very friendly and welcoming every morning. Gracias en particular a Wilbert y a Edna por la mañana. Gracias a Lorena, sus smoothies eran muy ricos y gracias a Xochelt por sus omeletes. We had dinner at the main buffet only a couple of times since we tried many of the restaurants. Thank you to our waiters José, Raul and Giovanni for the service you provided. There is wide variety and a good selection of food.

La Creperie, located next to the Privilege quiet pool is great for lunches. Their salads are delicious as well as their crepes. Jesus, Freddy and Victor were our waiters while we were there.

We also had lunch many times at the Privilege lounge - tapas style. Excellent food, excellent service. Dinner at the Privilege lounge was a treat. At night, it is à la carte. Alot of choices, all delicious. Gracias a Javier, Freddy y Victor y gracias en particular a Carlos por sus espressos y sus capuchinos.

Villa Marina (seafood, steak grill) restaurant is by the pool (also a lunchtime buffet). Had steak and ribs one evening. Yummy. Angel was our waiter.

Blue Moon is the romantic French restaurant. We went twice. Viridiana is the hostess and Gabriel and Zuriel were our waiters. Once again, the food and service were excellent.

Lastly, we went to the Rittrato d’Italia. Diana is the hostess and Carlos was our waiter. Enjoyable evening.

I may sound like a broken record, but this is the first time we have been to a resort where each evening’s dinner equaled or surpassed the previous one. The best food we’ve had over all and we’ve travelled quite a bit.

For coffee, tea, etc. there is Mikes Cafe. Pablo makes delicious coffees.

Beach/pool

The beach is great for taking long walks. Unfortunately, the comments that other visitors have made concerning seaweed are true. There was a lot of seaweed. The workers weren’t able to keep up. Due to the abundance of seaweed, the water is not clear. This is a deterrent for guests who would otherwise wish to return.

We were on the Privilege side of the beach. There are many palapas and you don’t have to get up early to reserve them. There is service on the beach and we were fortunate that Gabriela Castillo was our beach waitress. She is very friendly, very efficient, very hard working. Gracias a Gabriela por el excelente servicio.

There are four pools in all, the “bar” pool (Coral), the pool near Villa Marina (Turquesa), the ‘Daisy’ pool and the quiet Privilege pool. There are plenty of chairs, sunbeds but you have to get up early to secure one. There is music and activities/entertainment. The towel hut is right next to the pool area and there is also one near the Privilege section.

Once again, we cannot complain about the service we received. The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient! Bravo to Ocean Coral Y Turquesa. We appreciated and enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must - higher floors
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DPHMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for choosing OCT as your hotel of destination in the Riviera Maya. It is great to read that you had such a great time in our resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our gastronomical offer in our different restaurants. It is really rewarding to read that you had such a good time in our hotel with our hard working, friendly staff. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments on this page. And we look forward to receive you again in our hotel. Best Regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were very clean. Bartender at the “quiet pool” was outstanding. Food was mediocre and many in the party got sick at least one day. Beach was terrible with stinky seaweed. Clearly it’s a year round problem with permanent signs everywhere. They try their best to keep up with it, but it’s too overwhelming. Definitely not the fault of the hotel, but this is not the hotel to visit if you’re looking for a beautiful beach location. Very close to airport- but plus. The wedding we were here for was beautiful. Overall was a fine vacation, but would definitely check out a hotel with better beach area next time.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Krista S, Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience with us, we lament to hear that we do not please your expectations, be sure that we will trasmit to the correspondent department in order to improve our service even better, The seaweed is natural process of the mother nature, we clean the beach every day. Best regards, Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a week at Ocean Coral & . We visited with five other families, with kids aged 6 – 16. We had a wonderful time and were all thoroughly impressed with the resort, especially as several of us had stayed at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya and the Iberostar Pariaso Maya in previous years, and spent far more money to stay at those resorts. Given the drastically lower price, our expectations were much lower. We were all blown away by how great the resort was and what a value it was

Ride to the resort was quick with the always efficient USA Transfers. Check in was also speedy and our room was ready. There was a brief appeal to do the premium tour. We politely declined and were not bothered again during our stay.

The food at all of the restaurants was delicious, probably one of the best AI resorts we have been to food wise. I wish there were more servers as we typically didn’t receive drinks until half way through breakfast or lunch. The waiters/waitresses they had were hustling, there were simply not enough of them. Same with the bartenders. Two bartenders for the packed swim up bar is not enough. Carlos and Orlando did a great job and were constantly hustling, but there was always a fairly decent wait given the sheer volume of people.

There are not as many scheduled activities as at the larger resorts, to be expected when we have paid so much less. We loved the afternoon entertainment at the main pool. The Pink Party singers were fabulous! The giant slide and foam party were great fun too. We really enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings, listening to their live music or pre-show. We far preferred that to the crowded, hot theatre. While Grease was good, it was uncomfortable in the theatre when it was gorgeous outside. The after hours DJ pool-side was super fun but it would have been better if the DJ took requests. He was rather surly about it, we only wanted to hear Hey Baby, the song they played daily by the pool.
Christian from the Entertainment staff was the most visible and engaging we met during the week – whether poolside, on the beach volleyball court, or during the evening

The room was fine and a dehumidifier was already in the room when we arrived. It worked great, I only had to empty it once, as I suspect our housekeeping did it daily. The day it was full and stopped working there was a noticeable musty smell, but within a few minutes of it running, the smell was gone.

Overall we loved this resort and will definitely return. A few more staff members and a nicer DJ would make it perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank amypeteBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Gerente at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for choosing OCT as your hotel of destination in the Riviera Maya. It is great to read that you had such a great time in our resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our gastronomical offer in our different restaurants. It is really rewarding to read that you had such a good time in our hotel with our hard working, friendly staff. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments on this page, this way we have a chance to approve and provide even better service to our guests. And we look forward to receive you again in our hotel. Best Regards, The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews