We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
110
27
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
110
27
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden bay pohara beach large windows barbecue area bedroom unit spectacular location beachfront view within walking distance laundry facilities thoroughly enjoyed our stay per night well equipped kitchen comfortable bed units sea garden walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2020

My wife and I have already spent six weeks on a road trip around the South Island and have just spent four days in unit 11 of this motel (a beachfront unit) which we booked based upon the details shown on their website and tripadvisor reviews. When we arrived we discovered that there is a public walkway/cycleway between our unit and the beach. The unit has plenty of large windows providing stunning views across the expansive sandy beach which gave us very pleasant easy access to walks. It was clean, tidy, and well presented with a new looking carpet fitted throughout, a comprehensive kitchen, suitable furnishings and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, very basic and in need of an update, although everything functioned adequately. The TV channel choice was rather more limited than we had been used to on our travels. Pohara is in a spectacular location in Golden Bay and the weather was very good when we were there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the cost at $180 per night was very good value for money

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed in unit 4 and thought the room was fresh clean and tidy. The walk up the steps was planted well with natives which we thought overseas tourists would appreciate even bird life seen there. The whole complex was so tidy paint fresh plants trimmed. The view and proximity to the beach was AWESOME

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JIRT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete Herron, General Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Thanks for the great review, Glad you enjoyed you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

The owners were unfriendly. Unattended reception with note to ring bell for a "couple of seconds".
No one came so we wandered around. The approached by owner who made a comment about it not being 2.00 o'clock yet. Checked room was ready and gave us key. Seemed like he didn't want us there.
Unit Ok but expensive for what it was. Tired. Access to unit 4 not good. Water tanks refilling outside bedroom window at night after toilet flushed. Better options available I am sure.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TonyWilson2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohara-Motel, Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Hi There,
It was unfortunate that the buzzer had stop working and i'm sorry if this caused you to wait a little longer for me.
We do have a 2pm checkin time but are more than happy to get guests into there room as soon as it is ready.
I'm unsure why the unit could be called tired as it has just had new paint, carpets and beds and the access is via two flights of nice wide stairs with good hand rails.
The thing with reviews is its very easy for some one to a review but its not always a completely accurate
view of a property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

A return visit for us after five years and we went for a one bedroom at the front instead of the studio unit which we had really enjoyed. It was fantastic with loads of light and space with a view to the beach about fifty yards away. The facilities on the site if you want to use them with a garden, BBQ area etc are good. However for us it’s the location at this fantastic beach which is the winner and the size of this motel makes it quite intimate beside the more industrial scale top 10 next door. It’s handy for several eateries nearby which were all great and the carry out fish and chips at the top ten eaten with a glass of wine on the balcony would be hard to beat.

Room tip: Take a sea view
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Killeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Nice, self-catering hotel. Very good view of the sea. Good laundry facilities and good barbecue area. Close to the beach below, however, a beach with fairly hard sand, but perfectly OK. Slightly worn but very well equipped kitchen for cooking own food.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 601christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews