We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
110
27
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
110
27
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden bay pohara beach large windows barbecue area bedroom unit spectacular location beachfront view within walking distance laundry facilities thoroughly enjoyed our stay per night well equipped kitchen comfortable bed units sea garden walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed in unit 4 and thought the room was fresh clean and tidy. The walk up the steps was planted well with natives which we thought overseas tourists would appreciate even bird life seen there. The whole complex was so tidy paint fresh plants trimmed. The view and proximity to the beach was AWESOME

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JIRT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete Herron, General Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Thanks for the great review, Glad you enjoyed you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

The owners were unfriendly. Unattended reception with note to ring bell for a "couple of seconds".
No one came so we wandered around. The approached by owner who made a comment about it not being 2.00 o'clock yet. Checked room was ready and gave us key. Seemed like he didn't want us there.
Unit Ok but expensive for what it was. Tired. Access to unit 4 not good. Water tanks refilling outside bedroom window at night after toilet flushed. Better options available I am sure.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TonyWilson2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pohara-Motel, Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Hi There,
It was unfortunate that the buzzer had stop working and i'm sorry if this caused you to wait a little longer for me.
We do have a 2pm checkin time but are more than happy to get guests into there room as soon as it is ready.
I'm unsure why the unit could be called tired as it has just had new paint, carpets and beds and the access is via two flights of nice wide stairs with good hand rails.
The thing with reviews is its very easy for some one to a review but its not always a completely accurate
view of a property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

A return visit for us after five years and we went for a one bedroom at the front instead of the studio unit which we had really enjoyed. It was fantastic with loads of light and space with a view to the beach about fifty yards away. The facilities on the site if you want to use them with a garden, BBQ area etc are good. However for us it’s the location at this fantastic beach which is the winner and the size of this motel makes it quite intimate beside the more industrial scale top 10 next door. It’s handy for several eateries nearby which were all great and the carry out fish and chips at the top ten eaten with a glass of wine on the balcony would be hard to beat.

Room tip: Take a sea view
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Killeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Nice, self-catering hotel. Very good view of the sea. Good laundry facilities and good barbecue area. Close to the beach below, however, a beach with fairly hard sand, but perfectly OK. Slightly worn but very well equipped kitchen for cooking own food.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 601christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019

This was the first time we had been back to Pohara for 4 years and were eagerly looking forward to the visit. Over many years we have visited the area stayed at this Motel and our memories of the stays have been highlighted by the graciousness and attentiveness of the Motel management and of course the location. Certainly, the location hasn't changed but the response of management to requests was poor at best. We in fact never seen the Manager. Any request we made was always delayed with the reason being "we have to consult the Manager" but a "hello" or "how is your stay" was never uttered to us by the Manager. We found the Motel dated and in a real need of a revamp. I also wanted to use the BBQ's but found them disgustingly dirty. The grounds are also in need of maintenance. We stayed 5 nights but will not be returning.

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank PKandSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews