We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ratanui Lodge(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beachfront Motel(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Units(Pohara)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
110
35
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
35
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomposting toiletssan soucishared bathroomthe kitchengolden bayno worriesfamily unitvenisonunique styleowners and staffself contained unitpleasant stayfeel very welcomeadobe wallslives up to its nameeco friendly placepeaceful paradise
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

So friendly, so peaceful, a pleasure :-)

This is my second time here, the last one was about 10 years ago and the kids and I loved it. We were invited to help ourselves to the feijoas and apples which the kids loved and found the atmosphere a real peaceful retreat

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinLehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera B, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Karin Lehmann
Thank you so much for staying with us again and taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed your time with us. It was wonderful to see you again! All the best and kind regards,
VERA
SANS SOUCI INN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

This was our 5th trip to New Zealand, choosing to revisit 8 of our most favourite locations on the South Island. We had discovered the magic of Sans Souci in 2011 and just had to come back....and to our joy, it was all just as we had remembered!
Unfortunately Storm Gita had destroyed part of the road over Takaka Hill whilst we were staying in Blenheim, but fortunately restricted escorted convoys were running at 7am and 5pm by the time we had booked Sans Souci. Being determined to get there, we left Blenheim at 3am and were the earliest ever guests to check in at Sans Souci at 8.20am!
As before, we received the warmest of welcomes from Vera and Reto and their wonderful team. We had chosen to stay in the superbly appointed self contained unit, as before and immediately felt totally at home in such a relaxed and peaceful environment....so true to it’s name “ The place of no worries!” . Just to walk out of the Inn to Pohara to stroll along the beach is so relaxing, after a long journey. We had booked to dine in the amazing restaurant every evening of our 5 night stay and again experienced delicious meals, beautifully cooked and presented by the lovely Lena and Emma....we can highly recommend dining at Sans Souci! It is always fun to be able to chat to other diners during dining, the concept of the Inn.
There is so much to do whilst in Golden Bay. We visited the Wainui Falls, walked the Golden Bay side of Abel Tasman, walked on the golden beach of Tata Bay....idyllic!
It is quite an experience to visit quirky little town of Takaka and enjoy a coffee and cake in The Wholemeal Bakery, lots of interesting craft shops and local artists.
We again loved visiting the wonders of the Pupuhydro Springs and walkway. However, for us the highlight of Golden Bay is the beautiful Farewell Spit, to walk on the Puponga Farm Park with exquisite views over the Spit and amazing beaches, visit Wharariki Bay, and watch the delightful seal pups playing in the rock pools, all quite magical! On this occasion we found a walkway onto the beach at Farewell Spit and cool off tired feet in the sea.!
Every single member of the Sans Souci team made us feel so at home and welcome during our stay, helping us in every way possible. There is always, fun and laughter to be heard ringing out amongst the lovely team, all of which added to making our stay just
PERFECT . A very big thank you once again to Vera, Reto and their family of staff.

Room Tip: The one self contained unit is excellent, especially for families or longer stays.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NorfolkUKRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera B, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear NorfolkUKRoamers
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your wonderful review! You are doing the BEST marketing for us and Golden Bay in this time of Takaka Hill Road restrictions!
It was so nice to have you here, to see you again after all these years. Thank you for staying with us again!
I am pleased to hear that you arrived home safely and hopefully we will see you again sometime soon.
All the best and kind regards,
VERA
SANS SOUCI INN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This was our second stay at Sans Souci and the experience was as magic as last time. We were welcomed as 'old friends'. We were there during Cyclone Gita. The owners and staff were tremendous, even cooking a meal for guests by candle light, using gas appliances and a barbecue to produce an amazing meal. Guests were supplied with candles and our welfare checked as we waited for the power to comeback on. They also kept us informed about the the options for getting back over the Takaka Hill to return home.

Room Tip: As we were there for 7 days, we booked a family room to have a little more room to spread out, even though there was only two of us.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pip111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera B, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Pip111
What a gorgeous review! Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review about your stay at Sans Souci. We very much appreciate it.
It was great to see you both again and I hope we will see you again in the near future.
All the best and kind regards,
VERA
SANS SOUCI INN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Good room, great location and an excellent evening meal. A separate pub and bar are available just down the street. Sadly the breakfast we ordered simply didn't materialise which took the shine off our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera B, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Lee B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Sans Souci. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and the evening meal. I am so sorry about the breakfast on the morning of your departure. Something went wrong with the communication between evening and morning staff and by the time we noticed it was too late and you had already gone. I sincerely apologise!

Thank you very much for staying with us. I hope you had a nice trip back.
Kind regards,
VERA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We stayed here 20 years ago on our honeymoon and returned late January with our kids. We tramped and kayaked the Abel Tasman Park prior to our visit so San Souci was the perfect place to relax for a couple of days. We stayed in hot weather so it was great to come back to our restful cool room at the end of each days activities. Reto , Vera and their staff are very welcoming and make you feel at home. A bonus was being able to use the kitchen facilities. A very easy place to stay awhile and relax
in the Golden Bay spirit . Thank you for our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Being able to store food/beverages in the fridge is a bonus.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiholidayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera B, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear kiwiholidayfan
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Sans Souci.It is nice that you came to stay again after 20 years and I am so pleased you enjoyed relaxing here with your children.
It was great to see you again.
All the best and kind regards,
VERA
SANS SOUCI INN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews