We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ratanui Lodge(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beachfront Motel(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Sandcastle(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Units(Pohara)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
56
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandattention to detailsonjasuitedeckhostsnzdaybedlodgechristmas
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Thank you Sonja & Filip for making our honeymoon unforgettable. We had an amazing stay at the Bay Lodge! Fantastic service! The breakfast hamper, Antipasti Platter as well as the packed lunches were delicious.Great amenities such as jacuzzi and heated outdoor pool.I loved their passion and love to details. Keep up the good work :)
Laura & Ravi

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay at The Bay Lodge in Golden Bay. The hosts were very welcoming and the suite was luxurious. Wonderful views from the deck which was outfitted with a daybed and comfortable chairs. The unit was beautifully decorated with a beachy theme and the pool was a wonderful place to relax after a day sightseeing. It was a short walk to the beach and local restaurants. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VancouverLolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

This lodge has the most awesome view over the Golden Bay, the room has high class furniture without missing that personal touch which brings me to the hosts who have been very supportive during our stay with recommendations for various activities. Everything was perfectly clean. 10/10 would go there again!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris5185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

My husband and I spent two nights here during our two-week honeymoon, and had a great time. Filip and Sonja are fantastic hosts, and between beautiful guest rooms and delicious food, they have made the Bay Lodge the perfect accommodation.
We stayed in the Aroha Suite, which had a separate entrance from the main house, and was clean, modern, spacious, and comfortable. The suite had a small patio that overlooked the bay, and the outside day bed was a nice touch. We opted for the special package, which included a stone-grill dinner on the porch, and the presentation was absolutely lovely against the sunset...that was my favorite meal during our stay! Along the lines of more food, each morning, Filip and Sonja brought us a healthy and hearty breakfast. My husband and I are big eaters, so we were so happy to see that there was plenty of food for us to jumpstart our day. We spent our two days exploring Abel Tasman Coast Track and doing some fishing.
There were two hiccups during our stay - (1) despite the romance special's description of The Bay Lodge taking care of transportation "so both (of you) don't have to worry about that extra glass of local spirit!", transportation wasn't provided to/from dinner in town, nor was car service available, so we had to drive, and (2) there was work being done in the storage space that backed up to our suite, so there was a lot of sawing, hammering, etc. for hours during the day, which disrupted any rest we were hoping to get in our suite. Filip and Sonja were apologetic for the disturbance. Both incidents were not enough to deter us from enjoying our stay (and I still give The Bay Lodge a 5-star rating), but I would recommend changing the romance special description so guests can prepare transportation, and to forewarn guests of any work to be done on premises.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be lovely, but we preferred the Aroha Suite because it was on the corner.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaInternicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja V, Eigenaar at The Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi,

Many thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor. Sorry about the misunderstanding about transportation. We really offer a free shuttle to local restaurants. Most guests however prefer to walk to the restaurants that are only a 10 minutes walk from our lodge. If you really opted for our free transport option, you just had to let us know in advance when you made the booking, so we could organize that in our planning. We would have done this with great pleasure !

Also sorry about the noise at the backside of your Suite. We really tried to minimize the noise but unfortunate with a lodge fully booked for months in a row, this was one of these jobs that really needed to be finished that day. Wintertime was unfortunately no option for this job. We fully understand that it can have been annoying at some moments however we tried everything to minimise the disturbance for our guests and do the loud jobs when guests were out.

Know that complete rest and silence is back... The big job is finished and lodge and Golden Bay are back to full glory!

Kind regards,

Sonja & Filip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

You don't want to miss out. Best hosts and great ambassadors for NZ! We just loved the hospitality and attention to detail. Also great offer of having dinner in, especially when you are too tired to sit up in a restaurant. But don't tell anyone as it is already hard enough to book.
We will definitely return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NooxWGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews