We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
500
164
28
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
500
164
28
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub black bull beer garden both nights two night stay steak and ale pie excellent food little gem warm welcome lovely place short break fish and chips an evening meal full english comfy bed lovely meal lake district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

Great local pub

Stayed here overnight on way back from the Lakes. Room was comfy if a bit small(too much furniture?) but the welcome, food and beers were terrific. It’s family run so everyone was helping out but we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to others.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

Great reception from staff, very friendly
Food excellent
Clean and tidy, decorated nicely
If upstairs rooms are similar then should be good
Will call again if in the area
Car park small but plenty of road parking

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LincolnRedimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2021

Welcoming, dog friendly, pub with good food, beer and comfortable rooms. We broke our journey from Hertfordshire to Scotland here after reading other reviews and it was a great choice. Some lovely walks right on the doorstep.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2021

Came across the Black Bull a few weeks ago, highly recommend food and drinks, all staff were lovely, especially Rachael and Matt who couldn’t be more welcoming, great atmosphere and dog friendly, if you’re in the area definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank T9893MLlaurenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2021

Visited this lovely pub a few weeks ago, highly recommended food and drinks, Rachael and Matt couldn’t be more welcoming. Lovely atmosphere, all staff are lovely. Tucked away in a lovely little village.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lucybI8595KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews