We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$120
View deal
Expedia.comUS$120
Booking.comUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
eDreamsUS$120
Trip.comUS$120
TravelocityUS$120
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
500
164
28
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
500
164
28
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub black bull beer garden both nights two night stay steak and ale pie excellent food little gem warm welcome lovely place short break fish and chips an evening meal full english comfy bed lovely meal lake district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

Great reception from staff, very friendly
Food excellent
Clean and tidy, decorated nicely
If upstairs rooms are similar then should be good
Will call again if in the area
Car park small but plenty of road parking

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LincolnRedimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2021

Welcoming, dog friendly, pub with good food, beer and comfortable rooms. We broke our journey from Hertfordshire to Scotland here after reading other reviews and it was a great choice. Some lovely walks right on the doorstep.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2021

Came across the Black Bull a few weeks ago, highly recommend food and drinks, all staff were lovely, especially Rachael and Matt who couldn’t be more welcoming, great atmosphere and dog friendly, if you’re in the area definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank T9893MLlaurenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2021

Visited this lovely pub a few weeks ago, highly recommended food and drinks, Rachael and Matt couldn’t be more welcoming. Lovely atmosphere, all staff are lovely. Tucked away in a lovely little village.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lucybI8595KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2021

Walked in on spec for a meal and were welcomed even though we had our 4 legged friend with us . Proper pub with a selection of beers and a decent menu to order off , we had steak pie and a fish and chips both were excellent with portion sizes that Desperate Dan and Captain Ahab would be proud of , good food good beer and friendly welcoming staff nothing else is needed.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Service
Thank varonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews