We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
482
162
28
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
482
162
28
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub black bull beer garden kirkby stephen both nights evening meal steak and ale pie two night stay excellent food little gem warm welcome yorkshire dales lovely place short break bar area cooked to perfection nothing too much trouble
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2020

We chose this pub on the basis of its excellent choice of vegetarian food and we were not disappointed.The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff couldn't be faulted.Would definitely recommend for a short break.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank krys416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

We met up with some friends and stayed at the pub for two nights.

We were met and shown to our room by friendly and welcoming staff. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished, it was clean and well equipped. The en suite was small but had all you needed and a great shower.

We ate at the pub on both nights and the meals were great. We both had the steak and Guinness pie and I indulged in the sticky toffee pudding - it was all delicious. They also had some well kept real ales which we of course sampled.

Breakfast was also fantastic. We had a full English which fueled us up for a good day walking on the fells.

Can highly recommend the Black Bull - great food and very friendly and welcoming. The staff could not have been more helpful. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R7189JOemmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

We were well looked after by the staff. The room was lovely. There was a place inside for our bikes. Breakfast was great, unlimited toast for me, which I needed for the ride to Keld, Hawes and beyond. What beautiful country.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Visited for a meal on Saturday 3rd October
The menu was impressive and the food was amazing
I had the pork loin with black pudding mashed potato and peppercorn sauce and it was delicious.
Prices are extremely good and staff very welcoming

Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

Went here with friends, what a lovely place, so welcoming, decor lovely, felt so chilled out as soon as you enter.

Food was lovely, we had Scampi, Steak and Guinness pie,Salmon Fillet and Fillet Steak everyone enjoyed their food.and the Onion Rings were the best I have had.

Sticky Toffee pudding, Creme Brulee were also lovely and my Irish Coffee was Fab.

The staff are lovely very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Cant wait to go back.

Room tip: I have not stayed at this Pub
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eliz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews