We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
1
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Well-located 1.5 blocks or so from the lake and Malecon and walkable to local markets, countless restaurants and shopping.

QQ Inn is a welcome step that is far from the norm with character abounds. Rooms are one-of-a-kind, private and chock-full of art and collectables. Meandering tropical gardens and fountains below mature trees are among the nicest anywhere.

WiFi in the covered outdoor patio lounge area is good, otherwise spotty to non-existent in our room "The Royal Palm Suite". The lounge area is relaxing with garden views, comfortable seating and a diversity of reading material provided. Self-service coffee and tea would make it great.

Breakfast at QQ is formal served at 9 am and might be a skip if you are an early riser with a carpe diem mindset—or perfect for you because of it. Al fresco table service and seating with fellow guests is an elegant touch, but it may be out of step with your personal sensibilities. Breakfast was served individually on the plate consisting of fresh eggs, juice, bread, fruit, and bacon with French-pressed coffee. Lighter versions of the same theme with cereals served every other day. But management might do more for guests by doing less. Try a self-serve buffet breakfast available to guests at their leisure. Serve international favorites-- coffee, tea, yogurt, cereals, muesli, fruits, juice, hard eggs, bread, etc.

A bit of the quirky won't likely affect your stay much...

No credit cards are accepted--cash only policy might create some headaches, but it’s common to the area.

Bath towels are rough and scratchy for the price-point offerings of the hotel.

No hot water in the bathroom vanity sink, but plumbing is otherwise very good.

No in-room, self-service coffee or tea.

The garden patio Bar area appears to be out of service long ago but there's a little Tienda steps away.

Our stay, poolside lounge chairs parked, not so welcoming and out of use with no cushions. Neighbors cranked up the music in the early morning hours one night on the weekend, but it was otherwise peaceful and quiet. Over eager bell ringer at the cathedral nearby may amuse or annoy depending on your disposition. See if you can figure out the bell-ringing logic, we couldn't.

Go to QQ for the character and embrace the quirks. You are not likely to find one without the other and the location is very good.

The Local Chapala Area:
It’s a very scenic and relaxed vibe in Chapala--perfect to hang out and decompress. Walk the Malecon, enjoy lake views and the surrounding volcanic mountains.
Limited on local activities, you’ll find pamphlets on things to do, see, etc., at the QQ lounge. A few days aught’a do it in Chapala if you want to see the area and feel the vibe, but a good number of expats call it home.

Nearby Ajijic:
If you'd like to see what Mexico’s version of Carmel, California looks like, then do the gringo shuffle to countless boutique stores down the main boulevard in the geriatric gringolandia of Ahijic. Seriously though, if you are looking for those unique one of a kind items, the artisans here are terrific.

TIPS:
Hire a water taxi from the main pier for a ride on the lake to get a great view of your local surrounds. Skip the Scorpion Island tour, it’s a bit of a hustle and the island looks like its seen better days.

Go out and find some coffee and fruit while you are waiting for the QQ breakfast and hike up to the big white cross at the top of hill for stunning panoramic views of the lake, mountains and town. Its close by at about 4-blocks northwest of the QQ—it takes about 15-20 minute vigorous hike up, 10-minutes down. Find the cross street "Lopez Cotilla" off the main avenue "I. Madero" at the Plaza. It’s a steep climb with periodic steps and uneven rocky path along the way. Enjoy!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank booker925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, Owner at Quinta Quetzalcoatl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you for a most positive review. I would like to mention that after reading your review I immediately checked the hot water in the hand basin, it is fine just takes time to come through, be patient.
We take the cushions off the lounge furniture to avoid bat and bird droppings, we will always supply cushions if a guest requests them, and many do.
Our breakfast routine has been arranged over the years to suit guests I consult with guests on a regular basis regarding breakfast likes and dislikes, we believe we have it right but will try to accommodate guests preferences.
Thank you for staying with us and your review.
Robert Cracknell, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Stayed here with my sister in law and her two granddaughters. We came for a family event and this was a great place to stay. It's right in the center of Chapala so you can walk everywhere. The owner, Robert, was very gracious. Lovely breakfast each morning. The staff especially Margarita were very nice and accommodating. The rooms were well appointed and very spacious. We would stay here again even our relatives who,live here were impressed.

Room tip: We had a room on the bottom floor very nice recently updated.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A56Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, Owner at Quinta Quetzalcoatl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Hello Nancy, it was a pleasure to host you and your family members.
Hopefully we will see you again.
Cheers for now.
Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Upon our arrival we were immediately awe-struck with the lush, beautiful gardens & grounds of this fabulous B&B, and were greeted warmly by the owners (Lori and Robert), who sat in the lovely open lounge/lobby area and visited with us while finishing touches were being put on our suite. The accommodations could not have been better, the staff all extremely friendly and helpful, courteous and cheerful and the grounds astonishingly beautiful. We felt we had found "our paradise". The opportunity to meet other guests over breakfast on the patio (at poolside) each morning was very nice and we established some new friendships as we visited and "broke bread" together. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area and would definitely return. The owners are friendly and very helpful, arranging for transportation when needed as well as suggestions of local attractions, restaurants, etc.

Room tip: View the suites on their website - each has a unique theme.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladymkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

The QQ is not a hotel. It is a home. Rob, Margo, Aussie, and the staff I didn't get a chance to meet tailor every aspect of QQ to be an oasis for all travelers. For any visitor to Chapala, QQ offers beautiful gardens, unique and romantic atmosphere, a sense of community, excellent plumbing, and luxurious lodging.

My advice, book directly with Rob. He is honest, knowledgable, and helpful. He will help you find the room that is perfect for your needs at a price that is good for all parties involved.

Enjoy your stay :) I sure did.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan9240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, Owner at Quinta Quetzalcoatl Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2016

Hi Bryan, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and enjoying our little piece of paradise, hope you can drop by again some day.
Ozzi thanks you for the dog treats.
Cheers for now and safe travel.
Rob, Lorri, Margot and Ozzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

I stayed in the Lake Chapala area for 3 months at the end of 2015 and finished off my vacation at this amazingly beautiful place. It was just an incredible experience from start to finish, made even more enjoyable by the owner Rob and staff. The grounds are lush and peaceful, the location is perfect right down the street from the malecon on Lake Chapala and the room was spacious and clean. I even took a long dip in the swimming pool in the middle of December and wasn't cold at all. There's nothing negative to say about this place, only that I couldn't stay longer. Thank you for the great memories Rob, and to the rest of your gracious and hard-working staff. ~Alex

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexNPed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews