We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coombe Cottage

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Coombe Cottage The Approach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Sitting Room
Coombe Cottage
The Approach
The Bedroom
The Neighbours
First impressions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Malden, Greater London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
JJAlb25
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not recommend for a long stay.”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 weeks and the cottage was only cleaned 3 times during that time. The first clean was after 11 days and only after prompting. Not sure the floor under the bed has ever seen a vacuum cleaner. They don't provide cleaning products with which to clean the bath.

I was led to believe it was a B&B but there was no breakfast included.

The owner was exceptionally rude to me on arrival. I guess that's what happens when you pay 100% upfront.

Don't think it's good value for the service you get and would not recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancioux
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I live in France and we were looking for a small central location in London to visit our respective families. Coombe Cottage was the answer to our dreams. Perfectly located with easy access by train to central London, Knightsbridge in less than half an hour. But unusally for London, so quiet you can hear a pin drop in this little cottage at the end of Charles and Micalea's beautifully kept garden. The cottage itself was perfectly clean with every possible accessory , even small shampoos and soaps! We have already recommended our friends who wish to visit London and are worried about high hotel bills, this is the answer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjh83
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable and was not relaxing at all”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My stay at Coombe Cottage was not a very good one. The mattress was uncomfortable, the living room seating and the dining chairs were very uncomfortable to sit on, had to put up with slugs in the kitchen, the cupboard doors both in the kitchen and the bedroom were badly fitted, the bathroom door was also badly fitted in that you had to pull hard to open it, plus also I nearly got stuck twice in the bathroom as the lock got caught up with the door handle, the kitchen window wouldn't open, I did twice genuinely accidently switched the outside lights on but I was told to switched them off because it affected the neighbours, had to put with noise from the pub next door to the property on a couple of nights, I could hear one morning a lot of trains hooting from the nearby railway line, at night time when it was dark it was hard to locate where the gate was, vehicles were in the way in order to get direct access to the gate so I had to walk round them, it would be hard to park at the property as other vehicles were also parked there as well, it was only clean once during my 28 nights stay but that only happened because I was standing outside the property one night waiting for someone and I was asked if I wanted it done, even though I said what food that I was intolerance to I still got one of them left for me when I arrived, the advert is misleading in saying that it is B and B as it is not every day it just breakfast food items to start you off at the beginning of the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Uncomfortable mattress
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
We are very sorry that your did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to address the points your raised as follows:

The mattress was replaced prior to your arrival, is deep, expensive, fitted with a topper and mattress protector and has an electric blanket.

We had great difficulty contacting you, despite phoning you on the cottage intercom and knocking several times on the door with you in plain site and only a couple of feet away, this is why we approached you on our drive to arrange access to eventually be allowed to clean the cottage. Even then you could not understand our intentions due to your severe sight and hearing disabilities. The resulting mess left by you in our cottage was indescribable and required the services of professional cleaners. We have never before or after encountered any slug presence and have been repeatedly complimented on the high standard of cleanliness that we provide.

There is always parking made available on an exclusive basis for guests who have a vehicle and I can only again put your problems with negotiating the drive down to your impaired vision.

The access to the cottage has flood-lights to ensure a safe and easy passage but out of consideration to our neighbours we ask that these are not left on permanently.

Your comments about the doors in the cottage have been noted, it is due to swelling of the wood over the winter period and will be dealt with accordingly.

Both our web-site and the Holiday Lettings advert clearly state that we provide a starter pack only and we did our level best to adhere to your food intolerances when we provided yours and can only apologise if it did not meet your requirements.

We fail to understand how anyone could hear trains that run from a station that is a ten minute walk away and we have never been disturbed by the pub in over ten years of residence.

We take great pride in the presentation of the cottage and always strive to be both welcoming and understanding of our guest needs and feel that the lack of communication on this occasion created a huge barrier which left both you and us feeling unsatisfied.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canadianA...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cozy and comfortable in relaxing surroundings”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This place was a great escape at the end of a day full of traffic and throngs of people. There were plenty of restaurants to eat in or take out and a great supermarket close by. Charles left a good assortment of food to keep us going for breakfast so that was convenient and saved on cost. The place was clean and modern and so serene as you look out the window at a cute little country garden. It was a five minute walk to the train station. Beware that at rush hour the train is packed so travelling with a heavy suitcase is not fun!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
So happy that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you appreciated our garden it is a great love of ours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
one2onedr...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, well positioned for visiting Hampton Court & River. Close to amenities, Friendly & helpful owner. Wonderful 'Spotty Dog'!!
Was everything we wanted for a weekend away without the kids. Would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet & secluded
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your visit and your anticipated visit to Hampton Court. It was a pleasure to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing