We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NZRebecca
New Zealand

Recommend Staying here

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2020via mobile
Comfortable, spacious, clean and well- equipped motel unit. Useful under-cover deck out front. The owners are really
friendly and helpful. Great location for the Wilderness Trail. I would definitely stay here again.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Theatre Royal Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $315
  • Booking.com
9.6 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$107
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
15.3 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
16.4 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Priceline
17.8 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$95
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
18.1 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$268
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
18.5 km from Route 73 Motels Kumara
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kumara
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2020

A perfect place to stay while riding the West Coast Wilderness Trail.
Great hosts. Comfortable beds with plenty of room unit to relax & unwind after a day on the trail.
The outside covered deck/patio is huge, which is a great place to chill out (rain or shine).

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2019 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly owner. Comfortable beds. Great kitchenette. Big and spacious room and bathroom.
Great location if your heading north then south in the same day. Loved the heater.
A big fridge would be handy.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HAG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

Fantastic rooms representing great value - pictures don’t do it justice. Clean and well appointed. Very friendly and helpful owners who also run the General Store. Kumara is a great place for an overnight stop on the West Coast Wilderness Trail.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PaulineS685
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarkT5925, Owner at Route 73 Motels Kumara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Thank you Pauline for your kind words, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This was our destination at the end of day 3 of riding the West Coast Wilderness Trail and after a couple of days of living out of our backpacks we were keen to have some creature comforts.

The accommodation was all we needed with good space for the four of us to use as an overnight base and the comfiest beds of our trip for sure.

Much appreciated that the hosts were happy to look after luggage safely as we continued our trip.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonM902
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. A very very small town but is a good central location to stay if wanting to visit Hokitika and Greymouth. Very clean and newish. About a 2 minutes walk to the Theatre Royal Hotel which is great for dinner.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 55glendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews