We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ruth L
Waimate, New Zealand

Lovely place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Feb 2024
We stayed two nights but not consecutive. So, one night we had a miners cottage which was great, very quiet and well laid out. Enjoyed the big bath, and full kitchen. The other night we stayed in a room upstairs. It was much smaller but very nicely laid out too. Nice linen and comfortable bed.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$224
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Vio.com
    $222
0.0 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Route 73 Motel Chalets
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Theatre Royal Hotel
$167
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $157
0.0 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Priceline
15.4 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $163
  • Hotels.com
16.5 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Booking.com
17.9 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $98
  • Booking.com
18.2 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
18.1 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
18.6 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kumara
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
249
74
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
74
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west coast wilderness theatre royal miners cottages across the road continental breakfast hotel restaurant small town great place to stay glow worms the pub trail accommodation cycle christchurch ensuite nz otto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2024

We stayed at the Miner's cottage (2 couples) whilst doing the West Coast Wilderness Trail and it was lovely, roomy and has a nice outlook from the back. Clean, everything we needed - would stay here again. Nice having the restaurant right next door!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LouiseM2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Stayed one night after cycling from Greymouth in one of the houses they offer. Self contained room with ensuite. The house has shared kitchen, lounge and dining table. Great bike storage over at the hotel. We also had dinner and breakfast in the hotel which was excellent. Well cooked and presented food. Staff very friendly and professional. Our room was comfortable, clean and the old style deco very pleasing g. The bed was very comfortable, nice linens, all very clean.

Room tip: Good bike storage room with washing machine and dryer.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

After completing a day of cycling the Wilderness Trail we needed some sustenance. The hotel was open, so we gave it a try. What a beautifully restored bar area. All period furniture tastefully arranged. Staff were so friendly and welcoming. All the dinner tables had fresh flower arrangement. The locals were arriving and all were welcomed like family. A special experience. Our meal was great. Strongly recommend a visit if you are in the area. We were assured that the accommodation was as good as the bar area and fully booked out in season.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wander15595723330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nona Jackson, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Many thanks for taking the time to place your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. Hopefully you are able to stay a night next time! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2023

Stayed in one of the Miners Cottages - this was an absolutely beautiful mix of old and modern style. The cottages are super spacious and great to relax in - wish we we stayed more than just 1 night! The shower was great after a day riding the West Coast Wilderness trail and the air-conditioning kept the room at just the right temperature during a freezing cold night.

Room tip: Recommend staying in the Miners Cottages
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nona Jackson, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in future. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2023

Stayed in one of the old houses over the road doing the WCWT and for the price it was absolutely fine.
Nice Pizza for dinner.
We did change rooms as the bed in one room (3) was too soft, and they were happy for us to do that.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nona Jackson, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Hi Nick, many thanks for taking the time to place your feedback, it is much appreciated. Hope you enjoyed your cycle journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews