We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anthony M
Auckland, New Zealand

Love the Miners Cottages!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 May 2023
Stayed in one of the Miners Cottages - this was an absolutely beautiful mix of old and modern style. The cottages are super spacious and great to relax in - wish we we stayed more than just 1 night! The shower was great after a day riding the West Coast Wilderness trail and the air-conditioning kept the room at just the right temperature during a freezing cold night.
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: Recommend staying in the Miners Cottages
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nona Jackson, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in future. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Route 73 Motel Chalets
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Theatre Royal Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $144
  • Booking.com
15.4 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
16.5 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Hotels.com
17.9 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $95
  • Hotels.com
18.2 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
$130
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
18.1 km from Theatre Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kumara
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
249
74
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
74
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west coast wilderness theatre royal miners cottages across the road continental breakfast hotel restaurant small town great place to stay glow worms the pub trail accommodation cycle christchurch ensuite nz otto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2023

Stayed in one of the old houses over the road doing the WCWT and for the price it was absolutely fine.
Nice Pizza for dinner.
We did change rooms as the bed in one room (3) was too soft, and they were happy for us to do that.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nona Jackson, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Hi Nick, many thanks for taking the time to place your feedback, it is much appreciated. Hope you enjoyed your cycle journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2023

We stayed here Feb 2023 for one night in the Seddon Room – a walk back in time. The room was really good, plush and so it should be for the price.
The Pub was good – food and service good. There were only 2 staff working and they did an awesome job. We know it is difficult in NZ at the moment to get hospitality staff.

Most of the clientele were on cycle trips.

Not giving 5 stars because the wifi was not available as promised and the staff couldn't do anything about it. They had wifi for their business operations but not for us in one of the premium rooms. This was disappointing as wifi is one of our criteria when booking our accommodation for our 4mth trip.

There is not much else in town - we came here for the experience of the room.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara and Gra... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theatre Royal Hotel Kumara, Marketing at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Hi BarbGrae, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed the decor & oppulence of the Seddon Suite. Its also great to hear that our staff provided you with great service and food in the restaurant. I will be sure to pass your comments onto them.

I'm sorry to hear about the wifi. Please accept my sincerest apologies. There are 2 seperate wifi networks for security reasons, one for guests and one for the business. Unfortunately due to our location we can't always get someone out to fix a wifi problem immediately. The issue was brought to our attention back in February and this has now been rectified. Once again thanks for your feedback it helps us to improve continuously. We hope to see you again if you're ever passing through Kumara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2023

The restaurant is outstanding in all respects...friendly and courteous service, beautiful and unique decor, lovely outside eating area, delicious food served in very attractive ways and so much more...we would definitely recommend a stop at this wonderful place along the way from Christchurch to Greymouth!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 824hmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theatre Royal Hotel Kumara, Marketing at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Hi 824hmn, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is so lovely to hear you enjoyed stopping by to dine with us. We hope to see you again if you're passing through in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2023 via mobile

Did not stay however a wonderful meal, with family. Fabulous food we all enjoyed our meals . Fresh good value, just hours to get a meal where a little confusing. Good service, enjoyed the pub menu. A great place to pop into for meal. Really lovely garden bar and outside eating Will easily recommend and return next time on the Coast

Room tip: Just call ahead to see if open and what hours for meals
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Loulou0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theatre Royal Hotel Kumara, Marketing at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Hi Loulou0833, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us. It's so lovely to hear you enjoyed the meals and the service from our friendly staff. Sorry to hear meal times were a little confusing, our opening times are available on our website. We do hope to see you if you're passing through again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2023

This is an unusual place to stay as we were given a room in an old house across the road. We had access to a lounge and kitchen. The place is old and not sound proof - could hear the guy snoring in the room next door.
The hotel served a great meal with an excellent waitress.

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank Cassie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theatre Royal Hotel Kumara, Marketing at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Hi Cassie K, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's great to hear you had a great meal with excellent service in the restaurant. Sorry to hear you were disturbed by a snorer! The undertakers backpackers is indeed a historic house. We hope to see you again if you're ever passing through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews