We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
163
61
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
61
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west coast wilderness cycle trail miners cottage venison across the road pleasurable experience theatre royal enjoyed our meal open fire country pub fish and chips lovely meal small town continental breakfast white bait hotel restaurant the cottages
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Its a happy and friendly place that takes you back to the turn of the century, fortunately the bathroom was more up to date - well in 'Annie' anyhow. Tight for space but immaculately clean. One night was enough for us but we were passing through as were the majority I suspect.
The restaurant downstairs is basically the local pub. The beers and food are good and well priced. Nice steaks with a wine reduction jus.
Don't be alarmed if the outside sirens go off. we momentarily thought it was the end of the world - its the local call to arms for the volunteer firemen!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sparkyfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Loved loved my little stay at Theatre Royal. So many beautiful little touches from the old style bath tub, the vintage ornaments, comfy beds, great service and character style building. I will be back in a personal capacity next time

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank S473VPnicolec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you can return again with more time to spare.
Kind regards, Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This is our 2nd stay in the Miners Cottages and just as fantastic as the first. We love the fact they are a stand alone cottage, private & peaceful. The cottages are well appointed attention to detail is second to none. Shower has amazing water pressure. Lovely to sit on the deck and soak up the tranquility of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rascall16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This magnificently renovated 1876 hotel provided a wonderful experience for our accommodation while riding the West Coast Wilderness trail. The dinner and breakfast was first class and the service warm and friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We had a very pleasant overnight stay in one of the Miners Cottages. These are very new, nicely appointed with a private outdoor courtyard/deck attached with a great view of local flors and fauna. High quality fitout, with the inclusion of lovely antique pieces (furniture, cockery and bric a brat). Very comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities.

Perhaps the highlight was our evening meal in the hotel restaurant. There are a good range of dishes to choose from and we particularly enjoyed the house pate, whitebait fritter, the kumara, chilli and coconut soup and the duck confit. Don't think country pub fare here - think good quality, metro restaurant with very reasonable prices.

Who would have thought you could get all of this in out of the way Kumara. The owners offer a variety of quality accommodation on site and at other locations in the little village

Room Tip: Miners Cottages at the rear of the property are quieter and more private.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews