We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Theatre Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
156
58
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
58
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscycle trailwest coast wildernessvenisonacross the roadminers cottageenjoyed our mealtheatre royalmod consgold rushopen firecountry pubensuite bathroomfish and chipsarthur's passsmall towntoasted sandwichcontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We stayed here twice - on the way to Franz Josef and on the way back. Our first stay was in the main building. The room was a reasonable size and filled with furniture from a bygone age. Great bathroom - very modern. On our way back we stayed in one of the miners shacks. Large modern and full of all the modcons you could wish for. The food here while not cheap was excellent as were all the staff who we met.

Room Tip: If you want quaint stay in the main building, but if you want modern choose one of the miners shacks.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The room fitted all 5 of us, I had communicated via email from the UK with them about it and got instant replies, fully understanding what I needed, and having my expectations met which is no small feat when you consider the distance between our countries. The room is amazing, food at the hotel was wonderful, well priced too. I would highly recommend this place to stop at if you are in this part of the world.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank helibobs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We were surprised by how nice this hotel is. It was going to be just a one night stop heading down the west coast but after sleeping in the spacious and luxurious cabin with the gorgeous bathroom we would have been happy to stay longer. Dinner at their restaurant is superb as well and worth the stop alone. Kumara is also handy for Hoikitika and the surrounding area. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ghanbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

My wife and I were being driven by her (Kiwi) brother around South Island. He had booked a series of 2 bedroom hotels to stay at overnight en route including the Theatre Royal in Kumara. We were given a really friendly welcome and the key to our cottage which was down the road. We were expecting the usual bare bones motel - room, little space, the minimum facilities, poky bathroom etc. Instead we were amazed at the size of the apartment we had been allocated. The rooms were large. The furniture would not have shamed a top class UK hotel. Everything about the rooms shouted quality. There was even a hip bath in the ensuite of one room. There was access to a large garden and great views. Although the cottage was near a main road sounds from passing traffic posed no problems. We were really amazed - especially because this was not even the most expensive place booked for us. It was certainly the classiest!
That night we had booked a meal for the four of us at the hotel itself and, once again there was a good menu to choose from and good service.
That night we all slept well in our comfortable beds.
I won't be reviewing all the places we stayed at - one was really not good - but the Theatre Royal Kumara deserves lots of praise.

Room Tip: Ask for the lodge down the road.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We were cycling with 2 small kids and stayed here 2 nights. Kids had there own room which makes for a great sleep for everyone
Modern, clean with the bonus of glow worms just a hop skip and a jump from our room. Unfortunately we didn't get time for dinner either evening so will have to come back

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnnaBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews