We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Theatre Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kumara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed in a cottage out the back of the Hotel. It was virtually brand new and fully self contained. It had a verandah for sitting out on, a dining table and the bathroom had a lovely bath with two wash hand basins. The decor was lovely--very relaxing and restful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a self contained cottage behind the main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

16 - 20 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

We stayed here twice - on the way to Franz Josef and on the way back. Our first stay was in the main building. The room was a reasonable size and filled with furniture from a bygone age. Great bathroom - very modern. On our way back we stayed in one of the miners shacks. Large modern and full of all the modcons you could wish for. The food here while not cheap was excellent as were all the staff who we met.

Room Tip: If you want quaint stay in the main building, but if you want modern choose one of the miners shacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The room fitted all 5 of us, I had communicated via email from the UK with them about it and got instant replies, fully understanding what I needed, and having my expectations met which is no small feat when you consider the distance between our countries. The room is amazing, food at the hotel was wonderful, well priced too. I would highly recommend this place to stop at if you are in this part of the world.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank helibobs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We were surprised by how nice this hotel is. It was going to be just a one night stop heading down the west coast but after sleeping in the spacious and luxurious cabin with the gorgeous bathroom we would have been happy to stay longer. Dinner at their restaurant is superb as well and worth the stop alone. Kumara is also handy for Hoikitika and the surrounding area. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ghanbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

My wife and I were being driven by her (Kiwi) brother around South Island. He had booked a series of 2 bedroom hotels to stay at overnight en route including the Theatre Royal in Kumara. We were given a really friendly welcome and the key to our cottage which was down the road. We were expecting the usual bare bones motel - room, little space, the minimum facilities, poky bathroom etc. Instead we were amazed at the size of the apartment we had been allocated. The rooms were large. The furniture would not have shamed a top class UK hotel. Everything about the rooms shouted quality. There was even a hip bath in the ensuite of one room. There was access to a large garden and great views. Although the cottage was near a main road sounds from passing traffic posed no problems. We were really amazed - especially because this was not even the most expensive place booked for us. It was certainly the classiest!
That night we had booked a meal for the four of us at the hotel itself and, once again there was a good menu to choose from and good service.
That night we all slept well in our comfortable beds.
I won't be reviewing all the places we stayed at - one was really not good - but the Theatre Royal Kumara deserves lots of praise.

Room Tip: Ask for the lodge down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumara
9.7 km away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
69 reviews
20.7 km away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#7 of 10 in Hokitika
611 reviews
17.9 km away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 10 in Hokitika
272 reviews
20.4 km away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#5 of 19 in Greymouth
132 reviews
0.5 km away
Greenstone Retreat
Greenstone Retreat
#1 of 3 in Kumara
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theatre Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre Royal Hotel

Address: 81 Seddon Street, Kumara, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Kumara
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kumara
Price Range: $112 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Theatre Royal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re opened after extensive renovation on 24 Novemebr 2012Born in 1876 at the beginning of the Kumara gold rush, the Theatre Royal has been lovingly restored and now features six themed rooms with adjoining ensuites. Five rooms are upstairs whilst one accesible room is located downstairs Each room is unique, featuring a blend of Victorian decor and antique furnishings, while featuring all the modern amenities you would expect from a great hotel. The hotel includes a great restaurant and cafe, with your favourite West Coast brewed beers as well as a fine selection of wines and spirits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Theatre Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing