We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real and unexpected delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Theatre Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kumara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2017

My wife and I were being driven by her (Kiwi) brother around South Island. He had booked a series of 2 bedroom hotels to stay at overnight en route including the Theatre Royal in Kumara. We were given a really friendly welcome and the key to our cottage which was down the road. We were expecting the usual bare bones motel - room, little space, the minimum facilities, poky bathroom etc. Instead we were amazed at the size of the apartment we had been allocated. The rooms were large. The furniture would not have shamed a top class UK hotel. Everything about the rooms shouted quality. There was even a hip bath in the ensuite of one room. There was access to a large garden and great views. Although the cottage was near a main road sounds from passing traffic posed no problems. We were really amazed - especially because this was not even the most expensive place booked for us. It was certainly the classiest!
That night we had booked a meal for the four of us at the hotel itself and, once again there was a good menu to choose from and good service.
That night we all slept well in our comfortable beds.
I won't be reviewing all the places we stayed at - one was really not good - but the Theatre Royal Kumara deserves lots of praise.

Room Tip: Ask for the lodge down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 25 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We were cycling with 2 small kids and stayed here 2 nights. Kids had there own room which makes for a great sleep for everyone
Modern, clean with the bonus of glow worms just a hop skip and a jump from our room. Unfortunately we didn't get time for dinner either evening so will have to come back

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnnaBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We were well satisfied. A group of 10 of us booked in for dinner & all had great meals. We shared two whitebait meals as a starter, so yum. The staff we’re very helpful & friendly, especially our lovely young waitress who originally came from Edgecumbe. Lovely ambiance with the local history displayed around the walls & on the placemats. Highly recommend for a meal or as a place to stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Absolutely blown away with this stunning hotel and accommodation in this very small town. The history of the area is amazing. The hotel had wonderful rooms but we were in one of the cabins behind the hotel. These were impeccable both in decor and cleanliness. I think they are quite new. Food in the hotel where we had our evening meal was wonderful and the breakfast the next day was superb in the range and quality on offer. I totally recommend this hotel as a place to spend a night or two. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are beautiful and all have a historic story. Beautiful ensuites attached. The cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dalllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This place never disappoints. Staff always happy to go the extra mile, and the food is great! What a wonderful job the owners have done to restore history and enhance the little town of Kumara. The hotel has real West Coast warm character. I will definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank BirdsongHokitikaYHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely words. We all enjoy what we do and all the team always give of their best. Thank you for spending your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumara
9.7 km away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
70 reviews
20.7 km away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#7 of 10 in Hokitika
614 reviews
17.9 km away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 10 in Hokitika
272 reviews
20.4 km away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#5 of 19 in Greymouth
132 reviews
0.2 km away
Route 73 Motels Kumara
Route 73 Motels Kumara
#2 of 3 in Kumara
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theatre Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre Royal Hotel

Address: 81 Seddon Street, Kumara, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Kumara
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kumara
Price Range: $111 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Theatre Royal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re opened after extensive renovation on 24 Novemebr 2012Born in 1876 at the beginning of the Kumara gold rush, the Theatre Royal has been lovingly restored and now features six themed rooms with adjoining ensuites. Five rooms are upstairs whilst one accesible room is located downstairs Each room is unique, featuring a blend of Victorian decor and antique furnishings, while featuring all the modern amenities you would expect from a great hotel. The hotel includes a great restaurant and cafe, with your favourite West Coast brewed beers as well as a fine selection of wines and spirits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Theatre Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing