We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
163
61
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
61
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west coast wilderness cycle trail miners cottage venison across the road pleasurable experience theatre royal enjoyed our meal open fire country pub fish and chips lovely meal small town continental breakfast white bait hotel restaurant the cottages
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We were cycling with 2 small kids and stayed here 2 nights. Kids had there own room which makes for a great sleep for everyone
Modern, clean with the bonus of glow worms just a hop skip and a jump from our room. Unfortunately we didn't get time for dinner either evening so will have to come back

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnnaBExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We were well satisfied. A group of 10 of us booked in for dinner & all had great meals. We shared two whitebait meals as a starter, so yum. The staff we’re very helpful & friendly, especially our lovely young waitress who originally came from Edgecumbe. Lovely ambiance with the local history displayed around the walls & on the placemats. Highly recommend for a meal or as a place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank phils886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Absolutely blown away with this stunning hotel and accommodation in this very small town. The history of the area is amazing. The hotel had wonderful rooms but we were in one of the cabins behind the hotel. These were impeccable both in decor and cleanliness. I think they are quite new. Food in the hotel where we had our evening meal was wonderful and the breakfast the next day was superb in the range and quality on offer. I totally recommend this hotel as a place to spend a night or two. Well worth a visit.

Room tip: The hotel rooms are beautiful and all have a historic story. Beautiful ensuites attached. The cabins at the back are equally amazing..
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dalllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This place never disappoints. Staff always happy to go the extra mile, and the food is great! What a wonderful job the owners have done to restore history and enhance the little town of Kumara. The hotel has real West Coast warm character. I will definitely recommend to others.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank BirdsongHokitikaYHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely words. We all enjoy what we do and all the team always give of their best. Thank you for spending your time with us.
Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Milky bowl of coffee. Asked for a flat white and got a huge bowl of milky coffee. Yuck. Could hardly drink it. Flat coke! Unfriendly service. She was counting down till 5 o’clock and was very sarcastic and off hand. Stale fudge. How many days old?
Not impressed.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Herodeniro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

I apologise that we failed your expectations. I have spoken to the member of staff who served you when you visited. She is a highly trained barisita. It is a shame you did not give the coffee back and reorder another one. None of our staff finish at Five oclock so I am unsure of what relevance your comment had. Our fudge is kept in a chilled fridge. I asure you it is not stale but possibly the fridge was too cold and we have Adjusted the temperature. I canot comment on flat coke as stock is dated and this should not have occured. I do hope you bought the staff members attention to this.
Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews