We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
A hiker's paradise - Assynt mountains just a few miles away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A hiker's paradise - Assynt mountains just a few miles away
Looking out towards the Outer Hebrides Living room with wood-burner and sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
A hiker's paradise - Assynt mountains just a few miles away
Looking out towards the Outer Hebrides
Living room with wood-burner and sea view
Living room with wood-burner and sea view
Wood-burning fire and underfloor heating will keep you cosy in the evenings
Dining area and fully fitted kitchen
Spacious double room with ocean view + baby cot
Spacious double room with ocean view and en-suite
Double room with sea view
View from one of the double rooms
Twin room with sea view
Twin room with sea view
Stoer Lighthouse - a great place to watch dolphins and whales
The mountains of Assynt
The view from the top of Stac Pollaidh
Sandy beaches just moments away
The River Inver in Autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoer, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An aptly named house in a beautiful setting with ever changing views that you could spend endless days watching. The house is located in wonderful place which is so remote you can just forget the world and relax.

Our stay here was absolutely perfect, the house was fantastic and we are already booked to go again next year!

If you want to escape then this is the place to come.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Many thanks Mr Bailey for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again so. There is so much to see and do as well as just getting the chance to "stand and stare"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey C
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A light, warm, spacious house in a wild, wonderful location (ideal for bird enthusiasts!)”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we booked Aros Na Aisling, we thought it looked a lovely house, in an interesting place. It far exceeded our expectations - it has far reaching views across a bit of moorland to the sea, and the whole house is modern, spacious and incredibly light and warm. The geology, the walks, the little hamlets and villages, the roads, are all incredible. But the best thing is the bird-life around you: our highlights have been listening to snipes drumming from the sitting room, and seeing two cuckoos (male and female) every day.
On arrival, we were greeted by wine and tea and shortbreads. Before we arrived, Carol sent us a really useful pack including information about local history, a comprehensive list of things to do, recommendations for restaurants and encouragement to by local and support local businesses.

With heating from an air source heat pump, we felt like this was a holiday home that cared about where it was, making its impact locally as positive as possible, while providing for holiday makers in an eco-conscious way without compromising on comfort! It's also great value for money - there were just 2 of us, but you could easily have 8 or more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light, warm, spacious house in a wild, wonderful location
Liked least: Nothing - I loved everything about it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Many thanks for that very kind review. We are just glad you had a good time in such a stunning area, an area we love.
Carol & Roy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really comfortable house in great location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Our most sincere thanks for such a positive review it is most gratifying to know that our dream has also made someone else happy. A warm, comfortable, and stress free holiday surrounded by unique highland attractions is what we wish for everyone who visits our "Dwelling of Dreams". Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dom C
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great house in a beautiful place; a fantastic break from it all”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We could only spend six days based in Stoer in this fantastic, comfortable and well equipped house, using it a base from which to travel Assynt and around the North West of Scotland between Ullapool, Durness (Cape Wrath) and Lairg. So regardless of the weather (which was a mix of two wet, one cloudy and three sunny days) the house is plenty roomy and equipped to entertain family, friends or yourselves.
The location and area around is stunning, with some great walks (or cycling) around lochs and up the hills and over to the Old Man of Stoer (not Storr - that's on Skye) then on to around the point of Stoer. As well as the scenery, there is plenty of wildlife to be seen with both the house-owners and the cafe at the lighthouse having list of recent sightings of whales, dolphins, seals and a lot of birds. We did see a lot ourselves (including deer, eagles, buzzards, kites, heron and all those on Handa Island) but unfortunately no whales or otters this time, maybe next time.
So, plenty of "likes", no "dislikes", would certainly go again, would recommend to someone looking to visit that area and would advise: take food, a good camera, binoculars (although there is a pair in the house to use), wet weather gear, walking boots, an OS map (app or paper) and research the area - there's plenty of good websites. Everything else is in the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, location
Liked least: Leaving after six days!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so glad you had a good holiday and that the house and area were up to your expectations. It is a stunning area, but as you highlight in your review,the variable weather is part of the charm,but in order to make the most of it, you do need well prepares with sun hat as well as waterproofs and suitable footwear such as walking boots or willies. There is now both an electronic and paper guide to the area to help our guests find out quickly all the info there is about all the different activities there are to do, from fishing to deer stalking, the wildlife, the history, the geology, the eateries, shops and a little about the places themselves. We hope you are able to return to this unique and special area again and thank you again for your choosing Dwelling of Dreams
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyhound...
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014

"We spent four days here, and would have liked to stay longer. A fully - equipped house with a cosy fire, dramatic views out over the sea and a more comfortable bed than our own - we really couldn't have asked for more. The house is perfectly located for walking, cycling, fishing, wildlife spotting, painting, photography, cooking , convivial evenings or just relaxing with a book or DVD. Whether you're looking for solitude or a holiday with family or friends on beautiful countryside, Aros nan Aisling, Dwelling of Dreams is for you".

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your kind review.We are glad you had a good break even though it was short and that the house and area came up to your expectations. It is a unique and stunning area and our aim with the house is to enhance your experience of it whatever the weather.

Kind regards,
Roy & Carol Champion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing