We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Costiera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Glem(Varcaturo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Serena(Varcaturo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
82
81
35
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
81
35
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla costieranext doornice hoteltaxi driverevening mealpublic transportpizzathe buslast minutecroissantspiazza garibaldilocal beachremote locationbear in minda small swimming poolstaff were very helpful and friendlyrestaurants in the area
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

This hotel would suit those who are happy to spend a week at the beach without any other entertainment/attractions. The hotel has friendly staff and is kept clean. Not sure I would rate it 4 stars.
Breakfast is continental ie bread, croissants, apples, cake, cereal, yoghurt. It advertises lunch but it is not served. We did not have the evening meal - a set fish menu 20E and meat menu 15E. which didn't suit our tastes.
There is a small swimming pool which costs 5E to use. You can buy tickets for one of the local Lido's at a reduced rate in the hotel for 5E for a sun lounger 5E for an umbrella. Various people wander around selling a range of beach related things. There were lifeguards but my observations was of them sitting in the shade beside their chairs on their mobiles apart from one occasion when they were actively looking for a child.
The location of the hotel is its downfall for us as it was in a remote location 18k from Naples. I was impressed by those brave enough to drive but that did ensure they could easily exit the town. The hotel happily organise taxi's for you which we used on some occasions but just as easy to catch a bus to the local towns to catch a train to Naples or take the bus all the way. Significantly cheaper than taxi rides and we managed fine as a family. Less buses at the weekend so maybe stay in Varcatura at weekends and head into Naples and beyond during the week. The TI at the central trainstation gave us all the details to travel to Capri, Pompeii and Naples tourist buses.
There is a bar next to the hotel which has karaoke and sports tv alongside an Italian restaurant with basic cheap menu, they have entertainment some nights of the week. There are other restaurants a little further which also serve an Italian menu and worth a try. We had some nice fish but it is expensive (the fish we chose came in between 40E - 50E for fish and spaghetti)
There is a fruit/veg/wine/basics shop across from the hotel and a supermarket a few buildings down from it. If you like touristy shops or local shops you don't get it here.
A disappointment for us was the condition of the area, pavements are dangerous at times - watch out for broken pipes sticking out or you could do yourself an injury. Nowhere felt accessible for those with mobility issues. The Italian's love children but I didn't find anywhere for our daughter to have a play and run around other than the beach. I know most of us are not all that interested in TV while on holiday but my checking of the tv didn't throw up any English - a children's channel would have been nice for some down time. The 'ladies of the night' do stand outside the hotel at night which is not the most ideal environment for me.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MsCHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thanks to the detail of his review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I stayed here with my three daughters recently. The staff are all very helpful, and the hotel is clean and well equipped. The food was good - breakfast buffet and then a choice of set meat or fish menu for evening meal, but with some flexibility. One of my daughters is vegan and the chef willingly produced lovely meals for her at no extra charge. Drinks very reasonably priced too.
The local beach, Lido Varca D'Oro (which you have to pay for - tickets available at reception), is beautiful and feels very safe (both in terms of security and swimming - lifeguard and very benign sea). Also a small supermarket with good prices (not touristy) just opposite hotel. Great pizza restaurant on the road to beach too, which again had very good prices and a lovely waiter.
Giovanni, who runs Campania Taxis with his four colleagues, offered a great taxi service - speaks English and has loads of tips for sightseeing. He's a really good driver, and reliable and honest. There is no public transport within walking distance of the hotel, nor a cashpoint, so make sure you plan accordingly.
We all had a lovely holiday without spending a fortune. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Sarah
Thank you so much for your review, this makes us proud of our work we do with love and passion
Best Regards
A.S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This review is about the hotel but is undeniaby influenced by the area it is in. Varcatura is to the west by about15k and slightly north of Naples. Getting there is only really possible by taxi as there is no direct bus or train service from the airport. The hotel is in a run-down area as well. There are a small number of other hotels close by but this is by no means a bustling holiday resort. The beach is a 10 to 15 minute walk away, is well maintained and staffed by life guards and security. There are a small number of restaurants in the area. Our favourite, which had a relaxed atmosphere was Vico Sarchiapone, good pizzas.

Ok, now the hotel. It is very clean and has a attractive outlook to the front entrance. Reception is also clean and well maintained. The rooms are small but well furnished and the air con seemed to work fine with no problems. The pool is small but clean. Cost of €5 per person per day if you use it. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly but the biggest help is Laila who has very good English and provided us with some useful tips. As I said earlier, you will need a taxi to get around and the hotel has an arrangement with Giovanni. He is very reliable and honest guy who will not rip you off. To sum up, the hotel offers a comfortable and pleasant stay and I would stay there again but because of the area and its relative isolation we would be unlikey to do so.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank HampshireYanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear HampshireYanni
Thanks for your review, I hope to see you again in our facility to give you more room for the area.
Best regards
A.S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We spent a week here, and I love the fact that the hotel and surrounding area is not commercial at all, you get real Italy here.
It IS difficult without a car, though I cannot recommend the local taxi driver, Giovanni, enough. Good prices, great local knowledge and a real diamond.
There is a charge for the pool, and at 5€ per person per day, we did end up spending a lot for the week, never had to pay to use a hotel pool before. The sunbeds are quite uncomfortable, we borrowed some cushions from some other seats, but the next day they had been removed!
You cannot eat snacks by the pool, or order drinks to have by the pool, there is a little eating area which overlooks the car park at the rear.
Rooms are ok, we were in a family room, so two teenager in a bunk bed in with us, and the steps on the bunk were broken.
Free air con, brilliant.
The staff, in particular Leila, were great.
Varcaturo is a little run down, there are only about four restaurants in the area, but as it's not touristy, the prices are really good, around 40€ for four of us with drinks.
There's a club type place next door, which is very lively till about 2am, no bother to us but some may find it hard to sleep.
There's lots of boat trips on offer, again you'd need a car/taxi to get to port, or station to get to Naples etc
All in all a good holiday.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Florrie2268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Florrie2268
Thank you so much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

I traveled with a very large group ( over 15 and aged from 3 upwards).The hotel is very clean with very helpful staff.I never felt threatened by the area nor did any of my party.Sure it needs some regeneration and you do see some women of the night etc.But you are under no obligation to take up their offers and when I stayed in Vegas the issue was 100 x worse! Some reviewers mention an immigration problem and the mafia? Did they watch The Godfather before they came out or maybe listened to some UKIP rally in order to help construct their review? All we saw was some people of different ethnic origins selling fruit and working in restaurants.

The beach is great,clean with excellent facilities.The pizzeria next door is simple but very friendly and bar next door( Felix 3.0) is really good for a night out.Two very good restaurants are Locanda and Sarchipone.Both within walking distance.I would not advise driving a car -hire a taxi.The antics we saw on the road were crazy in terms of dangerous driving.
We all had a relaxing time and enjoyed our holiday there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gkcrossland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlcostiera, Direttore at La Costiera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews