We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Review Highlights
Worth every penny

What an amazing place to visit, Would recommend this, shame it’s not funded. Great day out, pleased... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
GrantSuzanneK
,
Hamilton, New Zealand
Become enamoured with Aotearoas birds of prey

It was an incredible experience to be able to see the talented Karearea up close diving for bait. I... read more

Reviewed 23 January 2024
E1Y5E
Read all 554 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Ngongotaha
from $50.13
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $259.00
More Info
from $1,585.00
More Info
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
451
80
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
451
80
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey nz falcon beautiful birds new zealand barn owl well worth a visit falconry handlers conservation rotorua population cages rehabilitated aerial skills audience kiwi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2019

A must do in Rotorua! Make sure you see the show - and if you're lucky enough you get to feed the falcons! I will be coming back ;)

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Contacted Wingspan through Facebook and was able to set up a time to come view their facilities. Was able to see a falconry demonstration with the New Zealand falcon, which was amazing. We were also able to hold a New Zealand falcon, which was a once in a lifetime experience. While we were there, we were also able to see a morepork chick (31 days old) which was fantastic. This is a great one on one experience where you can learn about these amazing birds and their conservation efforts, from people who work with them and advocate for them every day. This small team of 3 people is working to raise money for the new Wingspan center to be constructed, so they can help more birds and educate more people about their plight. I would highly recommend making the time to visit them, if you have the chance. Our visit cost $25/person and was beyond worth it, especially knowing that the cost goes to protecting these birds and helping build a new center. The staff are very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about their work. If you have time while you're in Rotorua, I would definitely suggest making an appointment to come visit the center.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

A basic notice at the gate advises to "check the net" but there's little information on the website apart from that it is relocating and will reopen late 2018

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank LARRYR889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Wingspan has apparently been closed since February 2018 and will reopen at a different location later this year. We were intending to visit and only found out by chance that it's currently closed.
I presume all of the recent reviews are from people who visited last year and took a very long time to leave a review!

Date of experience: August 2018
6  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2018

A bird park that is dedicated to preserving the native species of New Zealand. Make sure you time your drive to coincide with the Falcon shows - their flight skills are amazing! Help support this park's conservation message!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank meeganness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews