We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Review Highlights
Kiwi Treasure

Wingspan is a National Treasure and should be a must visit for all Kiwis and NZ visitors. The... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Tawhitokino
,
Lyndhurst
Worth every penny

What an amazing place to visit, Would recommend this, shame it’s not funded. Great day out, pleased... read more

Reviewed 17 March 2024
GrantSuzanneK
,
Hamilton, New Zealand
Read all 555 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Ngongotaha
from $50.13
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $259.00
More Info
from $175.00
More Info
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
452
80
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
80
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey nz falcon beautiful birds new zealand barn owl well worth a visit falconry handlers conservation rotorua population cages rehabilitated aerial skills audience kiwi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We visited the Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre this afternoon and found the aviary and falcon and hawk show very interesting and informative. We watched as Ozzie soared and chased away other Hawks and swooped and caught a small bird. The trainers were great and made the whole experience very personal. Would highly recommend as a positive way to spend your tourist dollar supporting a centre that looks after endangered NZ birds of prey.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Megzzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

What a well planned experience they put on for the public. Umbrella, blankets or hot water bottles, drinks etc.
The environment is clean and well suited to the birds- decent sized rooms with good flights.It is great to see such enthusiasm and dedication to release programme. Everyone we came across had a wealth of knowledge and was happy to share it. I would go there again.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Leslee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

This is a unique experience. It was a privilege to get so close to the hawks and moreporks we usually hear and see at a distance. And to see the smaller NZ falcons was fantastic. The 2pm demonstration of flying was great. We learned so much. The aviaries with accompanying information and the little museum were fascinating.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

If you do one thing in Rotorua you should visit Wingspan. This facility rehabilitates raptors and where possible gets them back into the wild. The staff are truly passionate about their roles and ensuring the conservation message is there. The NZ falcon is an endangered bird and there are less birds than kiwis in NZ. The highlight is definitely the flight show where you get to see the Falcons fly freely. This is fantastic to watch and seemed so natural. I would urge everyone to visit this facility and take some time to learn about the falcon and also harrier, more pork and owls.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank mandm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Just a short trip out from "downtown" Rotorua is this treasure. Welcoming, friendly staff educate us all about New Zealand's Birds of Prey with such pride and passion. It was truely an uplifting day and I have no hesitation in recommending a visit to Wingspan to anyone. Those of you that have an interest in wildlife and/or birds, a visit to Wingspan is a must.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank garysK761SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews