We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Kiwi Treasure

Wingspan is a National Treasure and should be a must visit for all Kiwis and NZ visitors. The... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Tawhitokino
,
Lyndhurst
Worth every penny

What an amazing place to visit, Would recommend this, shame it’s not funded. Great day out, pleased... read more

Reviewed 17 March 2024
GrantSuzanneK
,
Hamilton, New Zealand
Read all 555 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Ngongotaha
from $50.13
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $259.00
More Info
from $175.00
More Info
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
452
80
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
80
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey nz falcon beautiful birds new zealand barn owl well worth a visit falconry handlers conservation rotorua population cages rehabilitated aerial skills audience kiwi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Hawks, Falcons, Owls up close and personal. A lovely introduction to New Zealand predator birds and those who care for them. The show was very educational and enjoyed by all.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We arrived about 1pm which was a good time. It allowed us to look through the aviaries before the 2pm show. We learned a lot about the raptors while at this facility. The conservation efforts of this facility are fantastic. Our 5 year old enjoyed the visit, but got a bit restless by about 2:30. The show lasted about 45 minutes.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank jandbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Well worth the visit to see the show, and have a bird land on your arms and feed from your hand. Tho some of the birds seemed pretty sad in their cages, one has to remember they've been rescued and wouldn't be alive other wise, and many will be able to go back to the wild. Good people running the place and a good cause to support.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Very much enjoyed being able to get up close and see the Karearea (native falcon) and Ruru (native owl) in the aviary - but even more so the flying demonstration with the two Karearea was simply stunning (and very informative).
Two tips:
1) the flying display is at 2pm each day and there is no need to be at the centre more than around 30 minutes before that time
2) turn into Paradise Valley Road from off the State Highway on the north side of Mt Ngongotaha (well signposted out past Rainbow Springs heading toward Agridome)
In regard to that second tip, we went in from the city end of Paradise Valley Road and it was a long winding trip right around the back of the mountain whereas the site is only a short distance from the main highway from the other end of the road.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank ColinAndChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The staff are super informative and the demonstration was extremely engaging. Definitely worth going for the demonstration as you might even get a chance to hold a bird.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank DavidS21030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews