We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
174
26
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
26
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering kitchen drying room britannia inn national trust car park common room lake district bunk beds apple crumble free tea and coffee local pub wet gear cooked breakfast great pub great langdale local area free wifi walking routes
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely little hostel located nearby to great walking routes. All facilities well maintained and very clean. Beds comfy and had a great nights sleep. Pub nearby was good too (see attached pic). Andy at reception was great and helped us out a ton. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank manijs2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We're please you enjoyed your visit

Hopefully we'll see you again soon

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Picture-perfect location. All the rooms were so clean and bright with an amazing view of the surrounding landscape. Staff extremely friendly and advised us on walking routes to take. The kitchen is big and spacious, with lots of pots and pans for whatever you need. Homely and friendly atmosphere, with lots of games and books to peruse. Men's washrooms renovated to a high and modern standard. Spacious showers and plenty of them. Would definitely return! Thank you Elterwater!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liberty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi,

And thanks for the great review.

Please tell your friends

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

That is my, yet another return to Elterwater. All well known fab location, friendly staff, massive and well equipped self catering kitchen, very efficient drying room plus they've splashed some serious money to improve gents washroom. It is looking rather swish now :D

Best place around get even better!

Room tip: Riding and walking straight from the door destination of choice
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IvanMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for the great review. We're glad you like it!

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

This was my 2nd weekend stay at Elterwater Hostel and already planning to go back again next year! Location is perfect, there are a range of beautiful hikes to do directly from the hostel, would really recommend this area of the lakes. The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable, the bathrooms have been recently renovated and the drying room was so helpful after a day hiking through the snow!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Katie,

Thanks for the great review. Just an update... we've nearly finished upgrading the men's bathrooms to the same standard as the women's

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This is not my first stay at Elterwater Hostel this time of year and it has not disappointed yet again. In fact, the stay was better than ever!

The warm and bright hostel was a welcome sight after a long travel journey through wintry weather. The weekend I was visiting Ambelside was filled with snow-covered walks, so the dedicate drying room is a welcome site! After a hot shower I was ready for a trip back out (to the local pub that is).

The beds were just as comfortable as I remember, but this time with added comforts. Recently installed USB charging ports and lights at each bed makes for useful features when wanting to read or relax in bed before shutting off the lights for the evening.

All in all, my stay in Elterwater Hostel was better this time as it ever has been. I would absolutely recommend the hostel and will be coming back!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bsburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElterwaterManager, Manager at Elterwater Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thanks. We're pleased you like our improvements. We are continuing this winter with an upgrade to the men's washroom and a lot of decorating

We should mention that the Britannia has been voted 'Best Walking Pub' by Trail magazine readers

Cheers

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews