We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Warren Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Warren Cottage
View from patio Warren Cottage (Right hand side)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View from Warren Cottage
View from patio
Warren Cottage (Right hand side)
Warren breakfast bar
Kitchen facilities
View from breakfast bar
Lounge/Dining room
Lounge
Lounge with sofa bed
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom, robes provided
Second Bedroom
Bathroom
View from upstairs window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Clyro, Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
73henri1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal Getaway”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned to London after a delightful week in Brunant Farm and can’t stop talking about our time away. My family (husband plus two girls under 10) and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Warren cottage. It was just what we were looking for to get away from unrelenting London.

The cottage is cosy and homely with all modern conveniences, including a choice of kids DVDs and a stocked kitchen. The setting is spectacular – wonderful views of the hills through the day and almost unreal starry skies at night. The playroom barn was a big hit with the girls who spent a fair amount of time entertaining themselves there. There’s no wifi at the property but mobile coverage is strong.

The property is ideally situated for the many long walks we did and within easy driving distance to Hay, Brecon and Abergavenny. Stumbling across the brooding ruins of Llanthony Priory was a real highlight – definitely worth a visit. Big Pit is highly recommended and there’s a heritage steam train there too.

Special mention as to how welcoming Beth and Peter were, including producing chocolate bunnies when they saw the children and taking the trouble to courier some personal effects left behind.

We would certainly recommend this property to friends and family and hope we get the chance to come back soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your parcel arrived back home. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harley J
1 review
“A beautiful stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just got home from a breathtaking and WARM stay here! We were rescued by lovely locals after being stranded thanks to a disgusting campsite a few miles away. Here we had all of our home comforts and a very welcoming and fun pair of hosts - we cannot express our thanks enough and will most definitely back to this treasure of a find!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad you were nice and warm in Warren Cottage rather than camping on the coldest night of the winter. Hope you return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloud_dem
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home from home!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful weeks stay in Bramble cottage. Peter and Beth make you feel so welcome and they made the house child friendly for our 16 month old toddler. The views are breathtaking with walks from the door. hay is only a five minute drive for restaurants, cafes and books! We will be back. Would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon E
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Calm, peaceful, relaxing, idyllic...”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We first visited Brunant Farm Cottages in 2008, I found one of the cottages on a website and booked speculatively. We have been back every summer since then, and have already booked for next summer (2016).

There are three cottages, we stayed in Warren first time round, it was lovely, the views from all three cottages down the Wye Valley are simply breath-taking.

Since then, we have stayed in Bramble cottage, which has a larger living room and bathroom (handy when your "little ones" are increasingly taller than you are...!).

Pete and Beth Tindle are fantastic hosts, they are hospitable and yet respectful of your need for space, so you get all of the support and help you need, but they are never intrusive.

Hay on Wye, the "Town of Books", is a couple of miles down the road, there are 30 or so second-hand bookshops so if you like reading, Hay on Wye is the place for you. There is also a Co-op supermarket plus a good selection of clothes, antique and "curio" shops, and a wide range of places to find a meal, so if you prefer not to cook on holiday, Hay on Wye is perfect. It is also "dog-friendly" as are Brunant Farm Cottages, which suits us down to the ground...

The River Wye runs through Hay, there are lots of things to do on and around the river, from canoeing and kayaking to mountain biking or walking in the Black Mountains and on the Brecon Beacons. Our two were 12 and 9 years old when we first visited, they are now 19 and 16, yet we have never been stuck for things to do. Pony trekking, dingle scrambling, chilling out by the river, exploring gorgeous Welsh / Herefordshire borders countryside... what more could you want in a family holiday...?

The weather in the Wye Valley has been excellent over the years, at least in July and August, when we tend to go. In a seven day cycle, you might get one or two slightly damp days, but we have certainly never found the weather a problem. It's not the Costa del Sol, but we always seem to get back home with a sun tan.

I could go on (and on and on...!).... Brunant / Clyro / Hay on Wye is a combination which we have found unbeatable. The value for money which Pete and Beth Tindle offer is impossible to beat, we have found, I hope they don't put their prices up after reading this review...!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: One day our holiday comes to an end and we have to leave - until the next time...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash56789
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic Setting and Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely setting and comfortable cottage. Beth & Peter could not have been more welcoming. There is lovely walks to be had in the area and really near to all sorts of activities for our 2 kids ( 1yr old + 6 yr old). Highly recommended - thanks for the letting us stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing