We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Hay Barn”

Review of Great Hay Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Clyro, Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KJHayes27
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hay Barn”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a fabulous weekend at the Great Hay Barn celebrating a 50th birthday of one of our Book Club Babes.
The Barn is stunning with all needs catered for. Will was fantastic and a minor issue we had was sorted out immediately.
One thing I would say is that on the pictures shown the sofas are positioned around the fire and the dining table is in the lower part of the barn. When we stayed these had been swapped over and we felt that the place for the sofas is around the very welcoming log burner.
I would highly recommend the Barn as luxurious accommodation with beautiful surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertChe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect house for a family break”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations of our family have an annual away week in late winter, staying in a rented house (always different) somewhere in England/Wales. This year our holiday home was the Great Hay Barn at Clyro, a mile across the river Wye from Hay-on-Wye – and it proved perfect.

The house first: spacious, separate rooms for all, including a master bedroom suite and seeming acres of shared daytime space; a huge dining area in the main hall (with log-burning stove); two sitting rooms – one with a telly and great supply of books, the other with a small pool table; a breakfast 'room' off the kitchen; a utility room plus downstairs loo (though this was not working while we were there). Outside a meadow (with a view in winter of snow-capped hills) and a pond. Plenty of car parking and a copious supply of logs.

Just outside the gates is a useful garage/small general store; and five minutes stroll away Clyro has both a pub which serves food and a village Post Office/store. The pub is called the Baskerville Arms, and thereby hangs a tale. In the time of Arthur Conan Doyle the village was dominated by the Baskerville family, with whom Conan Doyle was friendly and from whom he borrowed the name for his ‘Hound of the Baskervilles’ story.

Also associated with the village is the Victorian diarist, the Rev Francis Kilvert, who kept a much loved journal that opened in 1870 with a daily account of his time as the Clyro curate. One feels in the shadow of his ghost hover over the village and the surrounding hills: he lived over the road from the pub. The hills - Brecon Beacons and Black Mountain - are fantastic: wild and remote and full of walking and exploring possibilities.

And finally there is Hay, world famous for its many, many bookshops, but also a lovely little market town with everything to hand: deli; butchers; Thursday market; cafes and restaurants. All in strolling distance. ROBERT CHESSHYRE.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamDolly
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible wedding weekend”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked the full site at Cwmhir Court (Great Hay Barn, Medieval Barn, 2 x silos plus the Groom's Cottage) for 3 nights to accommodate our wedding guests (and celebrate our nuptuals!). We searched high and low for a venue that would wow our guests, sleep everyone on site and also enable us to eat together without having to go elsewhere...we loved Cwmhir Court when we saw it, and knew our guests would too!

But even we were blown away at how incredible our weekend was. Will the housekeeper couldn't have been more accommodating or helpful; from the local lady we got recommended for doing our wedding breakfast catering (and brunch the following morning!), to the local baked bread to order, to the lady who dropped round 2 jars of honey from her bees down the road, to the recommended local hairdresser...the surprises just kept coming!

Guests with children who were due to leave for home on Sunday for school on Monday all developed mysterious "car troubles" which "forced" them to stay an extra night - testament to what an amazing time everyone had. Having been home a couple of days, we're now even receiving thank you cards in the post from our guests for organising the weekend...pretty sure it should be the other way round, with us thanking them for their gifts!! They're even trying to get us to arrange a reunion for next year - with most of our guests not knowing each other before this weekend, that's pretty amazing and really sums up how fantastic it all was.

We shall most definitely be returning to Cwmhir Court...absolutely stunning setting, with a team of staff who are completely dedicated to making your stay enjoyable and really do go above and beyond. Quality accommodation and a stone's throw from the gorgeous Hay on Wye...couldn't ask for any more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Housekeeper Will and his team - so accommodating!
Liked least: Nothing to note - we loved everything!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprise from Nephew for family”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent 4 glorious nights at this amazing barn courtesy of our nephew Chris for his family. It was everything and more than we could have anticipated. Wonderful views, exceptionally equipped, and great weather!!! We had two wonderful walks in stunning countryside.
Its a great place for large groups without feeling overcrowded and would recommend it to anyone and there is plenty of room for children to run around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tio39
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly Great Hay Barn”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our reservation of The Great Hay Barn and several related buildings for our 50th Anniversary proved to be a very wise choice and rewarding experience. The properties are beautifully place in the undulating countryside around Clyro and on the opposite side of the river to Hay on Wye. The Great Hay Barn is very spacious and a family of 12 is easily dispersed and catered for. The same applies to the wonderful Medieval Barn which is perfect for dinners of upto 30+. Add to these buiding the Grooms Cottage and the two excellent silos and the accomodation of a very large family or group of friends is truly first class. The overall impact is of a tiny village in a near perfect setting

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall ambience
Liked least: Nothing significant
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing