We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$956
Expedia.comUS$956
PricelineUS$949
FindHotelUS$956
CheapTicketsUS$956
Orbitz.comUS$956
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,290)
Filter reviews
4,290 results
Traveller rating
2,310
1,273
390
188
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,310
1,273
390
188
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hapuna prince hapuna beach the big island the mauna kea great beach sister property ocean front breakfast buffet construction noise chairs and umbrellas pool bar best beach on the island white sand beach partial ocean view public beach dining options golf course
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 4,290 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2021

Hotel property was beautiful and it was a perfect location for a sunset wedding.
Hotel did not seem to have the capacity for the number of guests and could use more chairs around the pool.

Hotel is isolated, so food choices were limited to the property and the sister property. With the expectation of the Merida, the food was average. No microwave in the rooms, just a refrigerator,

Disappointing to be charged $30 per day for parking, on top of the $37 resort fee. We were part of a group, and some of the guest received a discount to use on the property and we did not until was asked at the desk. Of course, we had already been there two days, and the discount was not retroactive.
I will stay somewhere else when I got back to Hawaii

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Aloha and mahalo for visiting us to enjoy the beautiful property. We do apologize for the inconvenience but have brought this to the attention of our hotel management team. Rest assured we will take all actions necessary to ensure all procedures are in place to best accommodate both our hotel guests and visitors alike. Thank you for your time and appreciate you bringing this to our attention as an area for improvement. We hope you visit us again so we may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021

Westin is a good place for Marriott rewards members. I stayed for 6 nights in April 2021. The rooms are specious. we checked in and got upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The suite had large living room and a kitchen with microwave and utencils. It also had a smaller bathroom with living room. You can walk out to the balcony from the living room. Bedroom is pretty large and the master bathroom has a large free standing tub (not sure if this is the correct description of the tub or not :)). According to my wife, although the tub looks nice but it's kinda difficult to get in and out (she used it once). Marriott lifetime status get you free continental breakfast which can be upgraded to make to other dishes (limited choice) if one wants. Staff at the hotel and specifically the breakfast restaurant is very friendly and polite. There are two pools. The adult pool is smaller and early risers have the best chance to score a seat. The lower level kind/family pool is bigger. However, in a non COVID full booking scenario, I think both the pools will be overcrowded, that's my estimation based on occupancy of the hotel. Multi level garage is attached to the hotel and car can be parked for a daily fee. It's quite a bit of trek from the garage to the room, so people with mobility issues, I think, should be dropped at the reception. However, if you do not mind a nice walk, then it's perfectly fine. The resort property is quite large, beach is 2 minutes from any room. Also right next to the beach there is great trail which we used quite frequently for long walks. Lastly, the hotel is very clean. all guests and staffs did follow all COVID protocols like masks, cleaning etc.

Room tip: Higher floor rooms have better ocean view, specifically in the wings closer to the garage.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kal-chakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time enjoying everything The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort has to offer. Should your travels bring you back to the Island of Hawai'i, we hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2021

This property was very newly built. The lobby at the property was spectacular. Room was upgraded to a sea view suite. Complimentary full breakfast with highest quality was provided for Marriott titanium members. Full breakfast includes rice with Portugal sausages, omelet set, or Belgium waffle. However, notice now the policy was changed. They just gave Marriott elite members free continental breakfast with a charge $14 for upgrade. The continental breakfast including oatmeal, fruit cups, yogurt with fruits, and many kinds of pantries was also delicious . Two pools were fantastic. At night the pool was heated. Very comfortable. Don't miss Hapuna beach state park. From the cliff you can view the whole resort was surrounded by the sea and the mountains.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bachelor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and are always pleased to hear guests enjoyed their meals on property. We hope you'll be back soon. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021

We were guest of a homeowner at Mauna Kea Fairways south , the homeowner was not on island at the time . Because the pool attended could not find the homeowners name in their system they refused to let us have towels , as we have been coming for years to Mauna Kea and swimming in the Hapuna pool , we went in the pool anyway. While we were swimming we were approached by security and asked to provide homeowner name an address which we did , then they wanted to call the homeowner. We did not have our phones and did not know the number by heart, plus even if we did we would have declined to allow the call as the time difference would have meant the homeowner was asleep. They basically kicked us out . Very weird and embarrassing and we cannot believe in in this time of covid they have gotten this far from Aloha. NC

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank NickandGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Thank you for your time and appreciate you bringing this to our attention as an area for improvement. We will be sure to share your review with our team in order to ensure this does not happen moving forward. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

Sachiko the concierge was very helpful in suggesting a wonderful hike to black sand beaches and in setting up our helicopter tour of the island. She spent the right amount of time with us to make sure we got the tour we were looking for. She also suggested other highlights to see within driving distance. Thanks Sachiko!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gardenhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Thank you for mentioning Sachiko! We will be sure to share your feedback with her to continue to encourage her to provide excellent service. We hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews